Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 7, 2013 | 4:21 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

67 Deep Sixer 5 Points Defeat the 67 Bots.
Bad Dude 5 Points Defeat the Bad Dudes.
Butt Pincher 5 Points Defeat the HUGE Jerks.
Castle Crusher 5 Points Defeat the Castle Crashers.
Channel Flipper 5 Points Defeat the Regular TV crew.
Emotikiller 5 Points Kill the NG Emotes.
Evil Slayer 5 Points Defeat the Evil Bosses.
Gang Banger 5 Points Defeat 10 random bosses.
Hate the Game 5 Points Defeat the VG Legends.
Jerk Killer 5 Points Defeat the Jerk Squad.
Killer of Legends 5 Points Kill the legendary characters.
N00Binator 5 Points Kill the N00bs.
Proletariat 5 Points Defeat the Bourgeois.
Travisty 5 Points Defeat the Travis Bots.
Troll 5 Points Defeat the NG Folks.
Unpatriotic 5 Points Defeat the Patriots.

Author Comments

Our old TVs have returned from being scuttled into space and they have made a sport out of killing humans!

Play as humans to fight waves of Raybots OR play as the Raybots and build new robots for humans to fight. The best robots will be added to official campaigns! Also note - that campaign list has a yellow scroll bar down the ride side, with a lot more campaigns down below!

Big thanks to Mike for all the programming support with the API and drawing tools. Big thanks to Stamper for the player select music and menu sprucing. Big thanks to RicePirate for the intro and select screen voice. Big thanks to all the testers who helped build Raybots!

Controls:
A or Z = Primary Weapon
S or X = Secondary Weapon
Arrows - Run, Jump, Drop through platforms

In human mode you can earn trophies and compete for high scores in the campaign mode. You can also browse the Boss Files and discover bosses not featured in the campaigns! Your letter grade is based on how much health you maintain during battle. Your score is based on a combination of health and time throughout the campaign.

In Raybot mode, you can edit your level, draw your own robot face, equip hats and hands, customize your weapons and record a pattern. While recording a pattern, hit SPACE to open the exit, then walk over the exit to close your loop! Every boss is a looping pattern. You must TEST and defeat your boss in order to save him, otherwise it isn't fair sport.

You unlock hats and hands by voting on the Raybots you fight in human mode.

In Raybot mode, some weapons have alternate versions. For example click the bullet icon multiple times for different bullets, or click the bomb icon multiple times for different bombs. Remember, you can equip both your A and S key weapons! When customization sliders are available, give them a try and see how it impacts your weapon.

Tap your "M" key to toggle Mute.

UPDATE (2/8/13): Turns out there was a massive teleporting bug that could result in you not being able to open the exit and close your pattern loop. I imagine this is the cause of the complaints about that issue. It's fixed! You may need to clear your cache.

Reviews


SkyerexSkyerex

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

I don't like it much. Gets dull after a few fights. Nothing interesting I suppose.



CrazybuttrueCrazybuttrue

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars February 8, 2013

Mehhh..
I can't really review you on level design here because all the levels are user-created. So I have to stick to mechanics. Which are very generic for a platformer shooter. The only interesting thing about this game mechanics-wise is the level creation feature, which doesn't work (can't save the pattern, or at least it isn't explained how). It's basically saying "Oh hey, look at all this cool stuff you can do! You can change the face, that's pretty cool! You can change the hat and hands, that's pretty cool! You can customize the level, that's pretty cool! You can customize the weapons, that's pretty cool! You can set his looping pattern, that's pretty cool! Oh, you can save it though. Guess you did all that hard work for nothing. Haha fuck you.", which is awfully rude and you should teach your game better manners.
The next thing about game mechanics is the rating of other peoples' levels; there are only three options in one category, which is easy, but annoying; I want to rate the levels on the robot's appearance, the smoothness of the robot's pattern, the level layout, and the difficulty. I also want some kind of feedback after rating; at the moment, you just rate and then that's it. It feels empty and as if you've not really done anything. I think something as simple as showing the accumulated rating of the robot after you've rated it, perhaps showing your affect on it, would be much more involving.

Otherwise, the static flickering between loading levels is painful to look at, and a constant high amount of things happening on the screen at once is also knid of painful, but the graphics are otherwise well done, hats off to Johnny.

The music is quite fast-paced, which compliments the game, but the occassional screams are kind of annoying.

This game would probably be good if the level creation worked. And it didn't make my head hurt so much. And the gameplay wasn't ridiculously generic.


TomFulp responds:

At what point is the saving failing for you? You need to successfully defeat your boss in "Test" mode before it allows you to save - that part could be more clear. Did you beat your boss and something was still failing with the save?


murmasamurmasa

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2013

The game is a big buggy start menu for me. If I try to create a level, it resets the character if I build one and I can't build. And when I try to do a marine campaign it just links over to the level creation. I think the beginning art is cool, and the concept would seem nice if it actually worked.


People find this review helpful!

mrmosdefmrmosdef

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars November 8, 2013

damn pattern doesnt work, i cant create a map. this makes the game awful. otherwise a dope game



LynxxxviLynxxxvi

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars February 21, 2013

fun, but while recording patterns i keep having problems toggling the exit. after a while of trying to record a pattern, spacebar wont open the exit anymore. i have to reload the page to get it to work again. please fix.


People find this review helpful!