Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 7, 2013 | 4:21 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

67 Deep Sixer 5 Points Defeat the 67 Bots.
Bad Dude 5 Points Defeat the Bad Dudes.
Butt Pincher 5 Points Defeat the HUGE Jerks.
Castle Crusher 5 Points Defeat the Castle Crashers.
Channel Flipper 5 Points Defeat the Regular TV crew.
Emotikiller 5 Points Kill the NG Emotes.
Evil Slayer 5 Points Defeat the Evil Bosses.
Gang Banger 5 Points Defeat 10 random bosses.
Hate the Game 5 Points Defeat the VG Legends.
Jerk Killer 5 Points Defeat the Jerk Squad.
Killer of Legends 5 Points Kill the legendary characters.
N00Binator 5 Points Kill the N00bs.
Proletariat 5 Points Defeat the Bourgeois.
Travisty 5 Points Defeat the Travis Bots.
Troll 5 Points Defeat the NG Folks.
Unpatriotic 5 Points Defeat the Patriots.

Author Comments

Our old TVs have returned from being scuttled into space and they have made a sport out of killing humans!

Play as humans to fight waves of Raybots OR play as the Raybots and build new robots for humans to fight. The best robots will be added to official campaigns! Also note - that campaign list has a yellow scroll bar down the ride side, with a lot more campaigns down below!

Big thanks to Mike for all the programming support with the API and drawing tools. Big thanks to Stamper for the player select music and menu sprucing. Big thanks to RicePirate for the intro and select screen voice. Big thanks to all the testers who helped build Raybots!

Controls:
A or Z = Primary Weapon
S or X = Secondary Weapon
Arrows - Run, Jump, Drop through platforms

In human mode you can earn trophies and compete for high scores in the campaign mode. You can also browse the Boss Files and discover bosses not featured in the campaigns! Your letter grade is based on how much health you maintain during battle. Your score is based on a combination of health and time throughout the campaign.

In Raybot mode, you can edit your level, draw your own robot face, equip hats and hands, customize your weapons and record a pattern. While recording a pattern, hit SPACE to open the exit, then walk over the exit to close your loop! Every boss is a looping pattern. You must TEST and defeat your boss in order to save him, otherwise it isn't fair sport.

You unlock hats and hands by voting on the Raybots you fight in human mode.

In Raybot mode, some weapons have alternate versions. For example click the bullet icon multiple times for different bullets, or click the bomb icon multiple times for different bombs. Remember, you can equip both your A and S key weapons! When customization sliders are available, give them a try and see how it impacts your weapon.

Tap your "M" key to toggle Mute.

UPDATE (2/8/13): Turns out there was a massive teleporting bug that could result in you not being able to open the exit and close your pattern loop. I imagine this is the cause of the complaints about that issue. It's fixed! You may need to clear your cache.

Reviews


lightofdarklightofdark

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 8, 2013

Fun idea, few annoying things most due to inherent nature of user generated content (some people are dicks, others are just plain idiots)

Main issue I had was with raybot mode, at times the exit buttons would stop working in pattern mode (both space and R) which meant some of my idea's couldn't be done because I couldn't save the pattern, but I managed to make 2 easy levels at least just to get a feel for the system


People find this review helpful!

MrCBassChinMrCBassChin

Rated 0 / 5 stars February 8, 2013

I am very dissapointed, Tom. I should have known better than to play a game you programmed. The learning curve for this game is too damn steep. The art was amazing, as i suspected it would be because Utah did the art. The occasional grunting noise sounded a lot like the Tank-Men, which is okay, props to the RicePirate. But, my reviews are based on game-play and the over-all experience. I did not like playing this game. I noticed a micro amount of bugs and glitches, which is good news for any programmer. But, You didn't focus on the experience of the game-play, which is bad news for any gamer. I'm pretty sure I will be deleting my NG account after I finish this shameful review, and will be taking my free time to Armor Games. And saying such a thing is not easy for me, seems how i've been visiting NG since '06. I've been using NG to play cool games since I was 12. I literally grew up with NG. So, this is good-bye. Live long and prosper mofo.


TomFulp responds:

I'm sorry that my personal attempt to give you entertainment was so disappointing that you now want to leave the site. Just avoid playing my games from now on and you can still enjoy the rest of what NG has to offer.


BenjaminTibbettsBenjaminTibbetts

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2013

Fun!



EdyKelEdyKel

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 7, 2013

Programming and art and music aree all tight, but I keep looking for powerups and the ability to upgrade my human character.


TomFulp responds:

At one point there were human upgrade options but it broke the integrity of the boss battles - a stronger human could just spam bosses instead of learning the patterns. One solution was to also have the bosses upgrade, resulting in tiers of bosses where high bosses simply couldn't be defeated by low level players... It all just seemed kinda messy and getting away from the purity of the battle constraints.


DoomroarDoomroar

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2013

man i get so lagged in the most awful moments, also that fucking bullet makes me change direction and waste my charged shot.