Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 1, 2013 | 4:33 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 2, 2013
  • Weekly 4th Place January 2, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

I've decided to cut out all the gore that was in episode 1 and just make it a conversation animation. Wait, no actually it's 100 times gorier.

Watch it on youtube if you're kinky (remove any spaces in the URL): http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=tiOM5ecFWW8

Reviews


MetalGeekMetalGeek

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

Great content, efficient and extremely funny. Literally i couldnt stop laughing and congrats to all on making such an extroardinary piece. Overall, i demand another episode.



CroutonsOfDeathCroutonsOfDeath

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

A decided improvement on the original, undoubtedly. Not to say the original was bad - if I didn't like the original, why would I click on the sequel practically a year later? I'm not sure why I never reviewed it, or why I felt it was only "OK" yet seeing part 2 and revisiting the first, I can say why - and of course say what I think you've got here! I guess my main issue with the first episode is it felt more repetitive and uneven, the gore was fun and the humour in the original oft hit the mark (And the Sniper's design appealed to my love of curvy villains with crazy mustaches.) but looking back the "Eh" part of me was that there wasn't an even mix of the humour and gore, even if the gore could be pretty funny at times - but here mate, you've got a great balance.

Seriously, I found myself easing through this episode a second time much easier than the first - I was laughing and enjoying the badassery in equal parts, and it felt more rounded, more stylish, and overall more fun. Sure it's not exactly high brow or full of substance, but then again... NewGrounds is where I go to pop my monocle and stop being a fucking art film critic all day. Humans need variety and all that. Plus, there was even more of the Reconnaissance Sniper! Seriously, I'm gay for that design and his character. I've watched this three times now, and each time he makes me smile and when it gets to the "I shot you last week!" number, I burst out laughing. Each time. And when I added my wife to the second viewing, she laughed too. I didn't think it could get better then more Reconnaissance Sniper.

Then in comes Sir Stirling Swift. I beg of you to keep up a trend: Create a really memorable, hilarious character to balance out Prosnorkulous's badassery with a great design and unendingly enjoyable schtick. The Reconnaissance Sniper was the standout of the first, and now we have Sir Stirling Swift - whose design and gag is just as fucking awesome (Even if I still have a bigger hardon for Snidely Sniper, that's what I called him way back when. I still kinda like the name.), and then in #3 I demand we have more of Swift and then another great new character.

And of course keep Prosnorkulous a badass, I'll admit - he's definitely a cipher, but a badass is a badass.

Now onto technicals: Your animation and art has also improved. It's still not the best I've ever seen and has some rough edges at time, but it is stylish, is at least relatively smooth (Choppiness is very rare) and the gore is joyously fun and I love how you can find so many different ways to fracture individual parts, I will hope for some more gore comedy though - get those organs, bones, and bodily fluids causing havoc and harm to others too. I'm a sucker for that shit. And even if the drawings aren't all the best, I've mentioned the word "Design" a lot - and that's one thing that also helps muddle most minor technical gripes I have, the character designs are awesome. I love Prosnorkulous' condescending, silent gander, the Sniper's curvy ass face and badass moustache, etc. etc.

This is seriously proof of what to do with a sequel, you took the best pieces of the original and improved upon its flaws and gained a little technical experience on the way too. I "liked" the original, but didn't love it. I loved this, and I can't wait for Prosnorkulous 3 - even if I have to wait another year for it.

4.5/5/+Fav One of the best flashes for the new year =)


People find this review helpful!
MiddleFingerRings responds:

Thanks a lot mang, really comprehensive review there. Snidely Sniper is a pretty good name lolol. Also, yes I do have a new character planned for the next episode.

Some good ideas about the organs and things hurting other troops, I'll keep that in mind actually. It will add a certain something to a scene I've been planning.


MackDaddy92MackDaddy92

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

persnickity



YoutubeIsawesomeYoutubeIsawesome

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

I find this continual



Damian-the-AwesomeDamian-the-Awesome

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

FREAKING AWESOME! This is a breathe of fresh air in terms of a flash movie. I haven't felt this good about a new flash series since 2007. I hope Prosnorkulus continues on for at least 5 episodes if not more! Like..damn! Everything is great; the animation, the art style, the dialogue..and most of all I have to say: Excellent choice in music! Definitely fits the badassery of everything going on. Keep up the good work! Stay awesome!