Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2012 | 1:35 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 12, 2012
  • Daily 4th Place December 11, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This is my entry to the GTL(Game Tribute Legion) competition at Stickpage and I got 5th place.

Reviews


DejablueDejablue

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2012

Wow that was epic. Loved the ending!



romo6921romo6921

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 24, 2012

wow best video.... EVER!!!!



DiFrandDiFrand

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2012

Too much win in this video



badkill22badkill22

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

Ok... Whoa that was Awesome!!!!



MafiaMettaurMafiaMettaur

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2012

Fantastic, simply fluid. The animation is impeccable, Jomm, I can't even guess how much time this took. I see none of these horridly effective specimens missing, and their parts are played very well, very true to their actual gameplay.

The clot is there obviously, the crawler and gorefast, stalker and bloat; I felt the siren played a minor appearance, however the husk and scrake were surely brought out in numbers near the end. The fleshpound could have been a bit more of a challenge, he felt more on par with the other specimens by the amount your survivor was able to kill off.

And Clamely, The Patriarch? Well, he was done very well. You used exactly the right audio files, his character was right there; the decay, the association with his specimens, his... not sure exactly how to say it. He was perfect. However, when your squad member finally went in for the kill, I feel it could have been slightly prolonged. Perhaps a few extra lunges after he carved out his chest, or something. Well, the combat was fantastic. Fluid, clear and effective sound, the siren was irritating (But that's the siren, no matter what happens), explosions, the hostile's sounds...

And your animation was great, did I mention that? Quick, yet full of detail- not detail as in face and background, but in the amount of things happening, the many various instants of action that you could manage to watch without missing anything.

And the ending? Hilarious. Loads a monay~ A little bit more effort could have been put into making those look like dollar bills, or stacks, but still extremely good. But one thing I felt could have been added, only one thing missing. The other members of the squad hiding in the weapons shop, or a closet, playing cards or just twiddling their thumbs. Would have been funny, but it not being there isn't detrimental to the score. Perfect for me.


People find this review helpful!
Jomm responds:

Oh man such a long review, I love it! Thanks a bunch for the kind works, they really make me feel good about this animation haha. NORMALLY this would have taken me much longer but since the competition due date was coming up and I procrastinated way too much, I animated this entire thing in 2 weeks exactly e_e I agree with a lot of the things you said too, like the fleshpound could have lasted longer with more struggle and the Patriarch battle should have had more choreography to it. The main reason those two weren't as good as I could have made them is because I took the extra step to giving each of those stick figures about 5 - 8 layers to make the visual appearance of the weapons attached to their arm looking like they had width~ I really wish I had more time I would totally have prolonged the fights for those ):

And yeah I wanted it to be a full 6 squad member fight and the trader to have an appearance but again, due dates~ Thanks a lot for the great review! I really enjoy animating the smallest details of movement since I don't often get to see other stick animators do it.

<: again thanks.