Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


Mattguy77Mattguy77

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

Ending was horrible. Just completely horrible. I played this game because it looked dark and everyone said it was good. I enjoyed the actual game, but the ending was just so cliched it made me laugh. It was like watching an old Murder She Wrote. It just really seemed like you were going some where, and built up so much potential so much momentum, just to be ruined by the ending.


People find this review helpful!

flamewolf393flamewolf393

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

Nice game, but it really comes off as tediuos trying to get everyone to talk to everyone else. Maybe if the ghost could go through doors so I could gather them all in one place.


People find this review helpful!

JoddyJealousyJoddyJealousy

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

Cool, the ending a kind of unpredictable, ironic



denanabuyadenanabuya

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

Original gameplay, plot is slightly cliche but s'all good brah. All great.



squidsketchsquidsketch

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

OH MY GLOD I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!! WHY.. BUT.. HOW.. UMM MEANIEE~!!!! SORRY TO SPOIL THIS BUT THE ENDING IS REAL BIZZARE DDD: