Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


patigerpatiger

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 30, 2012

Why This Game Is Great:

- It's length nicely matches the attention span directed to the story.
- The creative gameplay mechanic is what really shines here: switching bodies to utilize different characters even in a conversation between the same two people offers a fantastic way to play with perspective and ability. This feature is the real gem in everything.
- The art style did resemble Earthbound, as others noted, and gave the game a more "art game" feel. I would personally not have minded more complex sprite work, but it did its job sufficiently.
- The ending is difficult to fully predict, and offers the proper wealth of options for explanations.

Thank you for making it, and I hope any future games you produce will continue to be creative and interesting, as this one was!


People find this review helpful!

bigcammy007bigcammy007

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 30, 2012

pretty good game, nice plot and the ending...it was one of those moments where u say to urself "I did not see that one coming!" BTW, how do u obtain the secret medals?


People find this review helpful!

HeuxieHeuxie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 30, 2012

cool, like it.. the story was a twist.it's unexpected..cool game


People find this review helpful!

pixelheart360pixelheart360

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 30, 2012

this game i great and it looks like my favourite RPG game Earth Bound.


People find this review helpful!

lukatxdlukatxd

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

SPOILER SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS

--------------SPOILERS-----------SPOI LERS-----------------------

SPOILERS------- if i'm not the cop, why was there a game over ? ://

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILER SPOILERS SPOILERS

SPOILERS


People find this review helpful!