Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


kluxklux

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2012

MOTHER OF GOD THE TWIST!!!, THE TWIST!!!


People find this review helpful!

AveryLunaAveryLuna

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 10, 2012

Took me a bit, but I realized I thought Orval was useless after he said "I'll tell you what I know" I kept hitting the "Who are you" figured it out though, great game!


People find this review helpful!

fgwarriorfgwarrior

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2012

great game with a spiral plot that left me thinking and not many games can do that so good work


People find this review helpful!

MaleifusMaleifus

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2012

This is clever, well written, had diverse characters, and overall awesome! Be proud of this fine piece of work. I expect to see a sequal come out of this.


People find this review helpful!

oreocudoreocud

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2012

Omg!! How do u get the award "The End"?


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

You actually got the secret/harder medals first, good job! Getting "The End" is simpler and easier; just follow the more direct path to the ending, if that makes sense.