Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 11, 2012 | 10:22 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick October 17, 2012
  • Daily Feature October 13, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 17, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Final Fantasy
    Final Fantasy The world's favorite RPG now has your favorite Flash spoofs!

Author Comments

In every Final Fantasy cinematic, I've always wondered why they don't really emphasize the spells that much since the name of the spells sort of what makes Final Fantasy its franchise. So I tried it myself and see how it would look like.

*Queue random battle music!

Reviews


Anarchy-TimoAnarchy-Timo

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2012

really nice piece of action especially with the unique ff spells. makes me wanna play sum ff again



dragonace555dragonace555

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

As a hardcore Final Fantasy fan, I have to say you did quite well showing each individual spell. I could easily tell the higher levels of magic from the lower levels. Furthermore, I'm happy with your choice of BGM. It truly sounded like something that would be used in a Final Fantasy game / animation. However, I was slightly misled at first. The darker colored character was clearly a Black Mage, his yellow eyes and dark colors betrayed this. The lighter one however, I thought was a white mage at first, until he started blasting Black Magic as well. White mages are somewhat proficient in melee attacking, it's how they fight, when they aren't supporting. Black mages, however, have never been meant for melee combat, and are pure-magic casters.

As a long time fan of your animations, I was slightly disappointed. I'm used to your flashes being in 2D, so I understand 3D is something new, and even those experienced in 3D animation find it difficult. Despite this, I felt the animation was lacking. The close-quarters fight seen wasn't as intense as it usually gets in your animations. And it seemed slow to me. The lighter mage's swings looked like they were in slow-motion. But the darker one stayed true to the Black Mage class, and stuck with magic.

Despite this, excellent job. It's smooth, has great music, and is a sound tribute to Final Fantasy. Good work.


People find this review helpful!

mike0811mike0811

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2012

dam wish my final fantasy played like his did all I get when i play mine in this weird turn based thing =D nice fight but really other than the music and cheezy summon behammut reference i would not call it final fantasy =/ would be nice to see more work of this quality though



ZillieZephyrZillieZephyr

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2012

This is beuatifully animated, with most of focus on the iconic spells and the dynamic nature fight scenes in the Final Fantasy series. It's a work of art.

Now, there's one thing though. I feel like you should take this a step further. To me, this is more like a rough story composition, rather than a finished piece. Sometime in the future, I feel like you should challenge yourself even more, by recreating this scene with newly rendered characters. The backgrounds don't matter so much and the spells are beautiful as they are. It's just the characters that I feel can be pushed much further.

Anyways, fantastic job! Looking forward to more from you.


People find this review helpful!

IXthe2ndIXthe2nd

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 16, 2012

Yet not one of them knew the spell Reflect.
Very well animated.