Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2012 | 4:24 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 5, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place September 5, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Junior Artist 5 Points Finished your first drawing.
Messenger 5 Points Notified someone after taking your turn.
Randomizer 5 Points Started a game with a random user.
Umad? 5 Points Found the hidden troll face.
Sketcher 10 Points Reach a score of at least 10.
Colorpicker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Heartbreaker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Loner Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Welcome to the Drawing Grounds, the first-ever multiplayer game using the Newgrounds API! :)

If you get stuck on a loading screen, simply refresh the page! :D

This game is very dependent on the API. If it fails to connect, try refreshing the page.
All feedback is welcome!

Special thanks to everyone who helped me test this out and gave feedback!

// Controls \\
-Left/Right arrow keys to adjust brush size
-[Z] Undo brush stroke
-[R] Redo brush stroke
-[Backspace] Undo last letter
-Double-click a color swatch to open the color picker
-Press and hold down on a swatch and drag
onto the stage to pick a color from your drawing

Reviews


TiberiumCrystalKutuTiberiumCrystalKutu

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 10, 2012

The game is awesome, undoubtedly, but the range of words gets thinner the more you play the game. Personally I am not much of an artist but I greatly enjoy it. Constant updates with more mundane and random words would be 100/5 stars.


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

I'm adding more and more words each update! :D


auriplaneauriplane

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 9, 2012

I'm a terrible artist, but as with most drawing games, I think that might actually make it more fun.

I'd love a fill function. I'd also love to be able to pick a color from the ones already used in the picture. (Using the color picker changes the palette, so if I change a color I've used, I can't seem to match it exactly anymore.) But I can understand why you'd want to keep the tools simple, so I can't take a point off for that.

More words would be nice. I haven't been playing long, but I've already seen GAMEBOY three times. I won't take a point off for that either, because the latest news says more words are coming.

Excellent choice of music! Overall, a simple but nice drawing game.


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

The function to re-select a color is there (mentioned in the tutorial), click and hold down on a color, and drag onto the stage, then release.

I'm also adding an "eyedrop" button for those who didn't read or didn't understand the tutorial.

Some words seem to show up a lot, so I'll be logging which ones you have used so you'll get more of a variety.

Thanks for the review!


jazzy11jazzy11

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 9, 2012

It would be awesome if you added a fastforward button, have an answer to what they were drawing if we have to give up and(mabey) hints


People find this review helpful!

heterochickenheterochicken

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 9, 2012

It's really fun. And it's even nicer if you have a tablet. :D

It'd be great to have some kind of recent activity index for users, so you could see which people come back to the game. Currently, many started games just go unanswered.


Mattster responds:

On the New Game menu there is a list of the last 10 users to boot up the game, that's about as much detail as I can provide due to limitations.


dragontamer44722dragontamer44722

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 9, 2012

a fun game to get into, but i have a problem. For a few of the people it says I need to clear my cache to play against them...what is it and how do I do that?


Mattster responds:

It means that your browser saved the file, so if they drew a dog, then they drew a cat, you'd see the dog. Try using Google Chrome, it seems to work fine with that browser.