Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2012 | 4:24 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 5, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place September 5, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Junior Artist 5 Points Finished your first drawing.
Messenger 5 Points Notified someone after taking your turn.
Randomizer 5 Points Started a game with a random user.
Umad? 5 Points Found the hidden troll face.
Sketcher 10 Points Reach a score of at least 10.
Colorpicker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Heartbreaker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Loner Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Welcome to the Drawing Grounds, the first-ever multiplayer game using the Newgrounds API! :)

If you get stuck on a loading screen, simply refresh the page! :D

This game is very dependent on the API. If it fails to connect, try refreshing the page.
All feedback is welcome!

Special thanks to everyone who helped me test this out and gave feedback!

// Controls \\
-Left/Right arrow keys to adjust brush size
-[Z] Undo brush stroke
-[R] Redo brush stroke
-[Backspace] Undo last letter
-Double-click a color swatch to open the color picker
-Press and hold down on a swatch and drag
onto the stage to pick a color from your drawing

Reviews


LuigismanLuigisman

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2012

Awesome not bad though.



JuanoxJuanox

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2012

A really amazing adition to the Newgrounds selection of games. Although, it could use a reandom game maker, just so you don't have to type in a random name.


Mattster responds:

That's why there's a "RANDOM" button right below the area where you type a game ;)


stemnystemny

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2012

Hands down, the best game on Newgrounds (in my opinion). Only suggestion is to keep adding new things to draw. Otherwise, awesome work!



ShadowofSinShadowofSin

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 6, 2012

I love the game, this is a revitalizingly fresh idea and the multiplayer content being the basis of the game, witout a competitive aspect, is amazing. I have only a few suggestions, some of which have been mentioned, that keep this from a perfect 5 stars.
A way to organize games being played: "At least sort games waiting for our turn to the top. Don't show a game on the list until turn 2; the hanging turn 1 games are just clutter." -- dbw
"Add a fill tool! " -- dbw
Add a shape maker, such as to make rectangles or triangles (which is pretty hard to do with a circular drawing shape)
I don't know if I'm the only one experiencing it, but with a specific player, I am required to empty my cache after every turn because the game is saved. This shouldn't be necessary, it requires me to restart the game.
I look forward to a game even better than Draw Something! Kudos, sir!


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

Great suggestions!
I am looking into a new way of sorting games. Currently there is a bug causing games to not show up if you have too many. I like the idea of hiding the 1 turn games.
I don't intend on adding a fill/shape marker. If you look at what has been accomplished already, it is pretty amazing. I feel that it shows the talent people have when limited to 1 tool.
As for the cache issue, I will take a look into this.
Thanks a lot for the review!


Soccerg351Soccerg351

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2012

I'm having a blast, but yes a fill tool would be nice. also a time limit on guessing the word say 30 seconds after your drawing has been shown to the other person (30 seconds after the drawing is finished, not during the process of showing it)