Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 15, 2012 | 6:12 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 17, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 20, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My senior thesis animation I did at SVA in New York. It is a science fiction/horror story about a man who is trying to escape his past but has his conscious and ghosts from his past to deal with.

Reviews


4TAKEN4TAKEN

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2012

I find this movie fascinating, the art is rafreshing (at least for me) and the story is well written, leves you to assume and decide what happened, interpretations may change, but that's the point. I really consider this art. Thank you for doing this.


People find this review helpful!

doubleuzi1doubleuzi1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 20, 2012

man, wormholes/black holes scare the shit out of me
I didn't understand how the ship returned i mean the ship entered it and as far as i know it shouldn't be able to return
Great animation and story by the way !


People find this review helpful!

Pwnage101Pwnage101

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2012

What people don't seem to understand... is that a story like this doesn't NEED to explain every detail... it's made to let the viewer assume. To fantasize. There's no real, or direct, ending possibility, or point. Anything you make of this is your own.

For example: (P.S. WATCH BEFORE YOU READ THIS!)

In my head, they were at the brink of a breakthrough in finding out how to use Wormholes in travel. When the computer tried to warn them that the path they were taking would end up badly, his wife (my assumption) tried to take them off the path. The husband, seemingly a bit controlling, but less adept with the technology, took offense to her changing the path, and struck her dumbfounded. However, when their immediate destruction was at hand, he panicked. The wife, seeing his stubborn problem, attempted to reroute the technology for the wormhole jump, and sent her husband to the pod in case of an emergency. When she realized all hope was lost, she made a mad dash for the pod, narrowly missing it by seconds. The man is torn that his wife, and their years of work, both being his entire purpose in life, flashed away in front of his very eyes. Three years later, the man has made enough money from the now successful technology that they had developed, now that he could finish it from what he remembered. He finds himself drinking in a bar one day, stewing over the extremely small measure that they had missed, and that cause his wife's death. So, he decides to go home on a different route, one that would allow him to think longer and perhaps sleep. When suddenly, the familiar signal from his former ship rang through his newest red ship. The man can't believe his eyes. He can hardly contain his surprise. When he boards the ship, he does not expect at all to find his wife alive, after noting a strange, flesh-like parasite clinging to the abandoned walls of the ship. So he continues, noting a light as he goes. When he finally sees the light's shape, he is blown away: it was her! His wife had lived after all!... Or had she? When the goopy parasite had attached to his hand, he swung it away and kept going. He finally reached her, only to push his hand through her... Like a hologram. He chased fervently, hoping for another glimpse of even the former shadow of her beauty, when it happened... The parasite attacked. It grabbed him with so much force that he fell to the ground, and he passed out, with little oxygen left. Before he could truly die, however, his wife did what she had done to herself. The hologram of his wife was actually an embodiment of her mind, a CPU device that held her thoughtd, dreams, and emotions. When the man was dreaming, his body was dying, but the dream was real, figuratively. She had been sifting the information from his mind, into the ship's mainframe, as she had when the foreign parasite had attached to the ship after she came out in unknown space. Her CPU mainframe had spent the last three years searching for her beloved husband. And now that the two were together, forever, lost in the confines of their previously lost research, his physical embodiment became no more, and his CPU self had reunited with his wife. With their bodies dead, but their minds alive, and the ship out of fuel... they would float in their serenity, in love. Forever.

I love this animation. Take it any way you will, but this is just how I saw it... And I just want you to know... information doesn't always make the animation. The animator does. With their heart.


People find this review helpful!

iluvualliluvuall

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2012

Very good, I loved the style, simple yet effective, my only query is, did the wormhole (I'm assuming it was a wormhole) turn the woman into that strange growth aboard the ship? It reminds me a little of gravemind from the Halo series.

Or is she just dead, and the growth is making him hallucinate in order to catch him (which wouldn't explain how the growth is able to apparently pilot the ship)

Anyways despite not understanding all of it, very nice story, well made.



SHINIGAMIK14SHINIGAMIK14

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2012

I like it, the story had some plot holes for the veiwer to fill in, the fungus thing, the red spaceship, and however that ship got back there.

Quality, I think that low amount of voice usage is good, she could have just pointed to the escape pod with an angry face instead and just leave in the panting and gasping. I like the drawing style too, so everything on combo is even better.


People find this review helpful!