Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


JurgenJurgen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 12, 2012

Really well done, the music helped the movie so much. I felt for the cat when he was trying to swim back to the boat, you really found a way to show emotion through a cat.

My only, ONLY, gripe was this was that the animation was pretty choppy, I don't care much that the cat wasn't detailed, the awesome backgrounds made up for that, but it just as times felt kinda choppy.

Either that, or my computer is laggin. Anyway, nice job man, really well done.



Muzz-XandreMuzz-Xandre

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2012

Brilliant piece. Can't express how much I enjoyed it. But i'll try!
Really fun to watch, exciting art and great movement. The character art is so basic but it just makes it more likeable. The music was also a pleasure and I loved the grany texture overlay.

No, there is nothing I can think of today that would do your work justice.

I really look foward to your next movie.


People find this review helpful!

KaderKader

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2012

very nice animation. Good job. Thank you for sharing your talents.



cahocachicahocachi

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2012

Wow... So much emotion conveyed in a single quasi-8 minute video. Amazing.



RefaelXRefaelX

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 12, 2012

wow, just... wow.