Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 29, 2012 | 2:19 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 30, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place May 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

TOME - Episode 04 - Fraggedquest

Gamecrazed, alone in the woods one day, is invited by Alpha and the others to join in a quest, so they can relax and enjoy TOME like regular players for the first time in a while...but their day of enjoyment is in danger of being blown apart by an old enemy, lookin' to stir up trouble. Our heroes split up into groups, seeking three pieces of a cursed statue that holds a monster inside it for them to fight against. The REAL monster might just turn out to be something else entirely! Can they triumph over EVIL!?

Created by Chris "Kirbopher" Niosi, with music by Weston "Kajetokun" Durant, featuring special guest voices of Deven Mack Jr. (Beyblade: Metal Masters) and Mick Lauer (Yu-Gi-Oh! ZeXal). Join the adventure in the Terrain of Magical Expertise!

Reviews


Alpha-NuvaAlpha-Nuva

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

Showed an improvement from the last episode. Just quicken up the pacing at some points. I could see that you were trying to establish some backstory with the group's conversations while they waited for the moon to rise, but some of it really dragged on or was completely unnecessary. It would help if the writing was also a little less pretentious, although this was a big improvement over the last episode as well.



Twisted4000Twisted4000

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

I see no improvement from this one compared to the previous episode. Audio is good, I like Kirbopher's voice especially when he's screaming (it just sounds well-acted and clean). The writing isn't so great BUT the dialogue is snappy during the battle scenes, which I like.

But again, it's the visuals that just kill everything for me. They just don't look good... there's no consistency with the line-work, the colors are all in muddy shades and have little harmony, the characters look extremely flat and out-of-proportion, it's the same deal every time... the frame-by-frame parts aren't amazing or anything, but they are pleasant to look at compared to all the tweening. Also the gradients still don't look good, they just don't make sense, they just destroy the laws of how color and physics works. They make objects look incredibly flat but they have this slow color-transitioning...? uh

But I really enjoyed the camera movement during the fights, I liked how it moved a lot and attempted to keep you interested. But it just doesn't entirely save the issues I am spotting with the rest of the graphics. I mean obviously it's the color scheme, that's usually the first thing that gets picked up with the eyes, but also the characters have certain portions and objects on them that look like they're in some completely different dimension compared to the others, like the arms are completely flat and just look like paper-overlays compared to the body, which looks like aAAAHAHhhh it's just so hard for me to describe all these problems, it's literally a mess. I mean sometimes I even see you used shadows in the drawings, but then other drawings in the same shot DON'T have shadows... I mean make up your mind, that completely destroys the spectrum of everything. Oh yeah, the anatomy is still screwed up.

Well that's all I have to say about this one. All the story problems persist and everything's still just so ugly-looking.



laserkidlaserkid

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

You sir are amazing, I don't know how you do it, but each new episode makes me mroe invested in this group of characters, and wanting to see more! The art design, story concept, and voice acting is ll top notch. You have a bonna fide qualuity work here, and I love it!



GaruuSpikeGaruuSpike

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

Awesome. I love the character development and relationship buildnig going on here. It's... actually quite cute/sweet. :D Plus, Nylocke continues to be hilarious. Some may view it as mushy, but this is called "Building Realistic Characters". Real people don't have hearts of stone. Real people crave social interaction and, well, friendship. Apathetic characters are BORING characters. BOOORRIIIINNNGGGG!!

GC is showing some really cool development, going from the apathetic character he was before to a more open, likeable one. The fact that he's making this transition, it itself, makes him more likeable.

So many Rising Star animators are afraid of having deep, complex friendships like this in their productions. I find this sad. You sir, are a stallion amongst men, stepping forth and saying "My characters have emotions. Deal with it."

This truly deserves my 5-star rating. You are seriously doing this right. :D I keep coming back to this series not for the action, but the amazing complex characters you have presented. Keep it up!


People find this review helpful!

iHaveOneArmiHaveOneArm

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

brilliant episode! good story progression always leaves me wanting more ^_^ although now im wondering about gc's reason for not being able to mett in person with people...perhaps he's in a wheelchair :C