Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 3, 2012 | 12:09 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 4, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place May 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Contact 5 Points touch enemy or spike... not sooo clever!
First Kill 10 Points kill the first enemy!
Hang Of It 25 Points That's the way things work!
Top Floor Clear 25 Points mastered the first floor!
Gun Get 50 Points found a gun!
Boss Killer 100 Points kill the Evil End Boss!
MAX XP 100 Points maximum level experience!
Cash King Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Johnny Upgrade is a super hero with no skills at all... initially!

Collect coins and buy upgrades in order to beef up this cartoon fellow and to master the big arcade level and beat the evil boss!

Have fun with this action / upgrade game mashup!
Rob

News: Medals up and running!
(didn't have the time to read and answer all the comments because of that medals thingy, but will do!)

Reviews


jumpinatorjumpinator

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

Nice game.
Though it is short it was quite entertaining.

Btw I found the secret medal: just collect all coins in the game within one run(almost impossible without all upgrades).

I hope there will be more games like this one.


People find this review helpful!
whileworking responds:

*SPOILER*SPOILER*SPOILER* :D


Majin13DavidMajin13David

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

WOW that was actually entertaining 5 stars ummm stupid ? whats the secret medal anybody



ChronoNomadChronoNomad

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

The game itself is pretty short, but who doesn't love a quick upgrade game? That very first death came as something of a surprise (as I'm sure it does to most folks), but that's all the time it takes to catch on. Just upgrade, upgrade, upgrade! Then find a weapon and upgrade that, too. The graphics and animations work well in this cartoon style, which all felt very appropriate for the title. The music was pretty cool, too. My one and only issue is that I played through the entire game, start to finish, and never earned a single medal. Ah, well...so it goes. You might want to check that out for future players.

Also, to anyone who thinks that this game is nigh unbeatable, think again. After learning the pattern of the end boss, it's not actually that difficult to avoid every single shot. Then again, maybe that's easier for someone who's played a lot of Bullet Hell shooters. Anyway, I completely disagree that the upgrades are insufficient for beating the boss. There's a really easy way to shave a lot of time off the clock, for one thing. And by using the jump and shoot technique when the boss tries to crush you, it should be quite possible to take him out in three waves.


People find this review helpful!
whileworking responds:

All medals are working now, have another try ;)

I actually like the fact that you can play this game in different ways!


fomalhaut0556fomalhaut0556

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

The speed messes with your ability to make minute movements, and it's too short, but I LOVED it, make more, longer versions.


whileworking responds:

Thanks! And yep, all the upgrades will have an effect on the actual gameplay/handling!


keithwltrkeithwltr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

love the music