Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


pirateplatypuspirateplatypus

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 15, 2012

This was a great game. It's a vast improvement on other similar games like Mega Miner/Motherload/Scuba. Aside from having better game play the story and missions gives it some purpose. Though I'd like to suggest the ability to run while on the surface. Given how long the game is it feels a bit repetitive to have to walk around on the surface so slowly. But that's not really a big deal.

The only reason this isn't a 5 is the controls. It doesn't make a whole lot of sense to have to move your hands away from one position while playing to access the map/inventory/jobs. Even though the current controls are the first letter, I'd suggest making them A/S/D so that you can access them without having to relocate your hand. I'd also really like to see left-handed friendly controls. I'd suggest moving with WASD and then J for what confirm/interact, K for cancel and UIO for map, job and inventory. Or the ability to remap keys would be just as good.



DarkWolf101DarkWolf101

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 10, 2012

Beat it in less that 2 hours



m4dgoblinm4dgoblin

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 19, 2012

Really fun.. exept, there should be more upgrades.. you go along, have fun, but after you get some Wolfram, you save up for the Cooler, and when you get that last cooler, all of the sudden you can get 1000 diamonds, and 1 trip gives you enough money for EVERY upgrade, so. add more upgrades before the legendary upgrades :)


People find this review helpful!

linouskalinouska

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

So much plain innocent fun. How nice. Definitely wouldn't mind more goodness if you decide to take it further.


People find this review helpful!

cyberleoncyberleon

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 8, 2013

REALLY, really nice for a flash!

However, now there is need for a little rework, which will change the gameplay without taking to much effort:

-The "stone-rows" are straight lines. This is something I would change. Make these stone-areas more random, with thicknesses between 4 to 10 spaces. Now, with this done, let us only destroy one stone at a time, maybe with an item which becomes more and more expensive as we buy it. This will force us to go up-and-down more often!

-Getting the final equipment is still to easy, so lets adjust the needs and prices a bit: First of all, the better equipment could be quest-related! You got many guys out there who only offer one quest, which is O.K. - These could have more quests which result in opening better equip in the shop!

- Adding indestructable stones would be another idea to raise the difficulcy: These would allow to create real mazes down there! This could actually force us to really take care about our energy level, which actually becomes kind of obsolete after lvl 3.

- Adding caves in which we can NOT move upwards, where we would meet seas of lava, maybe would add the need to develop, purchase and build bridgeparts in town!

- Actually, beeing able to view 2 blocks far, is very powerful. Maybe this should only be possible after fulfilling a related quest ("sensor") and purchasing an upgrade?

- After everything is done, a quest concerning diamonds is missing. Maybe that final gem could be turned into an energy-regenerating item which allows us to go ito a "final cave", where we got to collect 100 of them ? :D

I hope u keep it up! great game!


People find this review helpful!