Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


titanwarriortitanwarrior

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 5, 2012

what dose the leveling up do on newgrounds im almost lvl 3 and was wondering if it lets you do sonething you couldent before? :] plz help



StephStarstrukkStephStarstrukk

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 2, 2013

I personally loved it! I liked the retro feel to it, and it took me a while to actually mine enough to beat it, so it kept me busy enough. I just have one thing to say about it, you should add more jobs after the final one, that way the diamonds have some sort of purpose other than just for money. Also, I didn't QUITE like how you just put the sand in there for one mission, it seemed pointless.

Add in some jobs after you actually beat it or more main missions during the storyline, so there is more to do, and give some of the things you added more meaning and purpose in the game, and I think you will have true gem of a game! :)


People find this review helpful!

beasinnerbeasinner

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

what is this game using to "save" because every time I start it there are no previous games, and just now I got awarded the start your adventure medal again. other than that I loved the game.



muffinsoulmuffinsoul

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

eh, beaten it, was overall a good game.
Only complaints I have are about the shop and the diffculty curve.
The game is very difficult early on, struggeling to get the money you need to recharge your battery etc etc... but after just a few upgrades, all challnge is gone.
The shop... just becomes unneccery very quikly, I allready had all the upgrade by the time I got the the rubys, and I just didn't even bother mining anything.
I think these two issues need to be addressed.
Other then that, a pretty good game.


People find this review helpful!

KilalyaKilalya

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

I was a great game, could be a little longer, but overall pretty fun.


People find this review helpful!