Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


ProDemomProDemom

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 28, 2012

how i make wolfram?



iFluffiiFluffi

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2012

I laughed when I read Gronk! :D

Awesome game.



DECA-FADEDECA-FADE

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2012

Outstanding, its about time someone made a redux of Motherload.

But it's time to crack down on this and give it some HARD reviewing.

Graphics: Although it's in pixels, it just feels right for the game, it seems almost arcade-ish in gameplay, although a few other pixel effects, such as grinding some of the ores, may have been good aesthetic additions. 9.5/10

Gameplay: you could teach a little kid to play this game, it's so simple, even more so than motherload. However the fact theres a sort of storyline really gives a reason to play it in the first place. A few more missions would have been great though, i most of the time was over-upgraded for the jobs. 9/10

Other: The games upgrades are like a mirror of those in Motherload, as well as some of the controls and game aspects, you said you made this game as an inspiration from motherload, and you absolutely NAILED the feel of motherload in a completely seperate and unique game. Im rather suprised you didn't get a higher rating in the weekly place category. But thats not my decision.

OVERALL: You did VERY WELL, you obviously worked hard and you got a 4.5/5, 9/10 from me. This coming from a rather hardcore gamer, you should be VERY proud of yourself.

Now onto reccomendations, if you ever feel as though you want to make a sequel.

-MAKE IT LONGER!
-Add more upgrades, try not to just make a game thats an EQUAL to motherload but tops it. Motherload had inventory items like teleporters and reserve fuel tanks. Perhaps you could start there?

Thats all i can suggest for you, Schulles, but otherwise you did a GREAT job!

-DECA-FADE


People find this review helpful!

Mish20Mish20

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 27, 2012

Very good game. Only issue is the length, a sequel with a longer story and more upgrades would earn all 5 stars easy.



RedParadiseRedParadise

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 27, 2012

how do you move to other genres in the store?