Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


DarkPersonDarkPerson

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 31, 2012

i simply LOVED it !!!



MacappleMacapple

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 31, 2012

I really loved this game,the 8 bit/pixel style and the music fits a lot with his genre. It can maybe be difficult when you start.
This game is awesome,I hope you can make a SECOND chapter of it,maybe with more Upgrades,more customization (Like more types of robos,more types of drills...etc) more AWESOMENESS! Great job



16Bitgamer16Bitgamer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 31, 2012

8-bit for the win. Any way. YES! the texture is all sexy and shit and the music is great and fits the game perfectly. I also like the little dialog that i had whit the npc's in the game. That game was very easy to get in to and i thin that you did a great job whit this. And i hope that you keep this up and that you make some more great games in the future. In my opinion this game deserves a 4,5/5. no question. And i gave Battlefield 3 a 2,5/10. Just saying, Now why didn't you get a 5 from me?. Well the game is a bit short. If you are planing to make another game like this. Then it should be in space. And i wan't to play as Spock. Or Darth Vader, And they should use BIG mining ships instead of small robot's. But i'm getting of track. As i said. Great game keep it up. Live long and prosper.



zqmfbgzqmfbg

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 30, 2012

Took me about an hour to beat, wasn't too hard at all, but it was still pretty fun.



kiba1000kiba1000

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 30, 2012

Not bad! This gme was very smooth and thought out, but i would have loved to see more upgrades and not such a slow begining progress ramp which made it boring to start but got better tword when i could mine in peace :D 4/5