Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 29, 2012 | 5:07 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Stencyl
    Stencyl Featured games made with Stencyl.

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beautiful Day 5 Points You've got a good feeling about today...
The Caves 5 Points This is a scary place...
The Grasslands 5 Points Don't fall in the water!
The Ruins 5 Points That felt familiar...
The Wastes 5 Points I can do this!
The Facility 10 Points I can't believe I made it...
Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
True Love Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Now with Medals and a Scoreboard!

KEYS:

* Press Z to jump!
* Press K for Easy Mode! (Scoreboard disabled)
* Press M to toggle Mute!

I set out to make a short, slightly challenging, little low-fi platformer. It's very short (15 minutes at most), not all that challenging, and certainly low-fi.

If you do get stuck, you can press the K key on your keyboard to switch on Easy Mode. Once Easy Mode is turned on, it can't be turned off again.

INFO:

This is my first game. It's not all that great and has plenty of issues, which is what I expected. I spent a total of two weeks on it, a few hours a day. Most of that time was trying to learn how to use StencylWorks. Since I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, StencylWorks was my best bet for getting anything done.

Admittedly, 90% of what I love about Just Another Day is the music, provided by Peter Gresser.

IMPORTANT:

* If you find your framerate very slow, try clicking the 'pop-out' link above the game, to move it to its own window.

* If you still can't hit Z after clicking away the ad, just click the flash again.

FRONT PAGE:

Holy cow (or is that bull), front page! Thank you all for the positive reviews!

UPDATES:

11-02-12: Medals and a Scoreboard? I've sold out... At least I didn't make the game easier. Changed the graphic for the "helper" blocks, because some people were offended. Compressed the music to make the filesize smaller, please listen to the original quality on Peter Gresser's page.
30-01-12: Made the fadein/out on death a little faster, and added a few more helper blocks.

Reviews


JimmyThangJimmyThang

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 13, 2012

YES YES YES! mario can suck my balls cuz i won! WHOOOOOO!!!! i love the game even though it was suuper hard. and it was verry rewarding to beat it because of that


People find this review helpful!

300300300300

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 11, 2012

Love the game and what beautiful chalk graphics uve created!


People find this review helpful!

PogobetaPogobeta

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 5, 2012

Enjoyable for a while

I don't mind playing games that are difficult. The harder a game is, the more profound the feeling of accomplishment when you succeed.

With this game, I had a decent time and didn't mind dying multiple times on a given challenge, but eventually it just became a chore and I realized I was less annoyed with the actual failure at the challenges and more frustrated that I wouldn't see the rest of the game.

I don't know how long the game is overall, since I stopped playing after a particularly difficult series of slope jumps.

The unforgiving nature of some of these levels makes it easy to mistake intentional cruelty for bad level design.

It's obvious you know what you're doing and you can make great games, but it seems like making a game with such spikes in difficulty and then calling it "slightly challenging" and taunting the players in the alternate mode is a bit off.

I do genuinely appreciate the abundance of checkpoints, given the difficulty of those certain parts. I don't know if more were added due to player whining, but it does make the game less frustrating than it would be having to perform several ridiculous platforming acrobatics in a row.

I feel like I've played far enough in to get a good feel for the game, but without Medals or something I don't feel any motivation to go back and finish it.

At any rate, please keep making games.


People find this review helpful!

DerikuDeriku

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

I have a slight bit of hate...

The game is tons of fun, despite being somewhat Nintendo hard to finish, the music is very retro and fitting to each scene, and the game makes me want to follow story even more.

Those little black fuckers though...I swear to god...



SupafunkSupafunk

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2012

Loved it!

I know some people don't like the extreme difficulty, but I think its refreshing every once in a while. So many of the artistic type games out there have no depth to their gameplay. This game, on the other hand, finally made me feel a great sense of accomplishment after beating it!


People find this review helpful!