Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 28, 2011 | 7:04 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 29, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 4, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Clouds Disappear 5 Points Collapse a cloud by standing on it.
Ice is Slippery 5 Points Stand on ice and slide around.
Lava is Hot 5 Points Stand on lava for too long and get hurt.
Shrooms are Bouncy 5 Points Bounce off a mushroom and into the air.
Watch Your Step 5 Points Collapse a wooden platform by walking over it.
Animal Cruelty 10 Points Drop an enemy into some spikes, and watch it suffer.
Desert Dash 10 Points Beat Level 7 in under 50 seconds.
Foe Bouncer 10 Points Perform a massive aerial combo by bouncing off enemies.
Foe Juggler 10 Points Keep an enemy up in the air by attacking it.
Forest Jog 10 Points Beat level 3 in under 40 seconds.
Frost Bite 10 Points Hit an enemy with a dangling icicle.
Glacier Run 10 Points Beat Level 13 in under 60 seconds.
Master Mage 10 Points Cast a level 3 spell.
Master Warrior 10 Points Lose your ability to cast spells, you don't need them.
Newbie Mage 10 Points Cast a spell for the first time.
Newbie Warrior 10 Points Discover the standard 3-hit melee combo.
Self Destruction 10 Points Defeat any boss with their own projectiles.
Spikes are Painful 10 Points Fall into a pit of spikes and regret it.
The Credits 10 Points Check out the credits page and maybe visit some links.
Volcano Sprint 10 Points Beat Level 19 in under 70 seconds.
Balanced Skillset 25 Points Buy the weakest version of every spell.
Boss Immunity 25 Points Defeat any boss without getting hit.
Endangered Species 25 Points Defeat 1000 foes in total.
Level Grinder 25 Points Reach an experience level of 30.
Power Up 25 Points Max out your HP and MP.
Boss Hunter 50 Points Complete the Boss Rush on hard or epic difficulty.
Foe Exterminator 50 Points Complete the Foe Rush on hard or epic difficulty.
Gold Hoarder 50 Points Collect every coin in every level.
Great Adventurer 50 Points Open every treasure chest in every level.
The End 100 Points Complete level 20, rescue the princess and finish the game.

Author Comments

Explore the world of Adventure Story while battling swarms of enemies and massive bosses, collecting new equipment, and learning magic spells. Hope you enjoy this one, it took longer than it should have...

Instructions:

Arrow Keys - Move
Up Arrow - Interact with objects
A - Jump
S - Attack
D - Magic menu
Q, W, E - Magic hotkeys
Esc, P - Pause game

Keys can be changed in the pause menu and options.

Reviews


OmegathorionOmegathorion

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

Doesn't feel original enough

I've played EBF games for a while now, and it's very very admirable that you as a single developer can recreate an experience that takes game companies years to make. However, your games feel like just that: recreations. None of them really seem to have a fun and unique mechanic that sets them apart from other similar games, something that just makes me go like "whoa, that was awesome."

Adventure Story came very very close to that with the magic system. That's a fun and unique mechanic that I haven't seen in other beat-em-ups. But considering your reputation, I was expecting way more. Matt is like the master of cool sword moves. I was expecting to do stuff like raining swords down on my enemies, or slashing apart the whole screen with a giant spear, or something . Considering that this is Matt, you should have replaced "mana" with "skills" and given him stuff like Legend and Quake. In fact, why not have a ton of purchasable skills in the shop and force the player to choose six for each battle? The magic system was a good idea, but it felt half-baked, and it wasn't enough to set this game apart from other beat-em-ups RPGs.

Part of the problem lies in design style, which is what I talked a bit about above. The other part lies in mechanics. You really should have added some form of reliable mana regeneration, because it's not fun to be stuck whacking enemies with my little mana staff for minutes. Also, the way the gameplay froze during cast aiming was clunky. It would have been more interesting if you had to aim in real-time, or perhaps in slowed-down time instead. At the very least, if the gameplay had to freeze, tint the screen dark or something, anything to accentuate the fact that this isn't just an awkward screen freeze.

The melee system was fine. I personally dislike games where you take damage by touching enemies, I think enemies should have attack animations that deal damage themselves, but hey, different opinions are different.

As for story... well, story's never really been EBF's strong point. But why'd you take out all the characterization? Stuff like those silly witty one-liners during EBF 3 battles, and idle animations, and dialogue in general. In this game, Matt has no character at all, except that he likes his cat. Actually, is his name ever even mentioned in the game? A stranger to your EBF series would have no idea what's going on. On one hand, this isn't crippling because you have a dedicated fanbase that already knows who Matt is. On the other hand, I feel like your game's high ratings are also because of your dedicated fanbase scoring your game based on their admiration for you as a developer.

That's about it. Try to do unique stuff to set your games apart from others rather than copying pre-existing design biases, and consider finding a talented writer to work with you. I'm rating this a 7/10 because when all's said and done, it was a fun game. (Fun with good music and art, I didn't credit those) But it wasn't fun because of the game itself, it was fun because it was just another hack-and-slash. On a personal subjective scoring system, I was pretty disappointed with this game.


People find this review helpful!
matt-likes-swords responds:

Fair enough. It was just taking too long to develop so a lot of ideas got cut out.


IcemarioIcemario

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

Hey TrueWolf

It was #1 for a whole day on the 28th.
But this game is AWESOME.
It's a RPG Platformer, and that is one of the best games to play. I prefer simple graphics and characters, and you got that spot on.



TrueWolf123TrueWolf123

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

LOL

This game is freakin awesome. And it still not in the top 50. What is up with that!?!? Tom Fulp Cmon now. Give Matt the fame he deserves (as well as Phyrnna [HalcyonicFalconX]).



AstridzAstridz

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

Awesome!

I've been watching your works since you first started submitting stuff, but I don't think I've ever left you a review.

I really enjoy our extraordinary cute style of graphics and the way you visualize things. You're a great example to all who wish to do Animation (This is coming from an Animation student).

Anyway, I just want to say that I really enjoyed your Game, it was good to see from you again. Keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!

PoundDotBlamPoundDotBlam

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

Nice game

The music gets a little old after a while, but in terms of gameplay, it is very smooth, very active, and takes some practice.

4/9


People find this review helpful!