Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 31, 2011 | 5:19 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Advisory Animal 5 Points Discover the dog who can speak in the tounge of man.
Born Again 5 Points Experience rebirth the first time.
Human Nature 5 Points Kill a living creature with your weapon
Self Defense 5 Points Kill an enemy with their own projectile
The Call 5 Points Awaken her guardians
Facade Breaks 10 Points Defeat Uzaza
End of Us 50 Points Complete the game with the aid of the gun
Insult to Injury Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Curiouser and Curiouser Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Altruist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

11/8/11 Still working on the medals guys, hang in there. Also tried some more optimizing to fix the slippery/sticky controls issue some of you have. (also, if you have a FB tab up, try closing that)

**CONTROLS** LEFT/RIGHT walk left/right UP = Jump DOWN = Raise shield (while standing)/Use Weapon(later in game,while standing)

Oyeatia, creator and god of man surrenders his deity, descending to the green earth in search of a lost love. Gyossait sleeps in the warm black heart of the dying planet, her dreams seep into the weakening minds of man. The end begins.

Update History:

11/5/11 Patched vanishing keys, walking off map, alternative ending, Medals implemented but pending.

Reviews


CRASH15fulCRASH15ful

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 5, 2011

Not bad.

You know, I think what that game same with the "Silent hill" a little bit.But you did that great. Keep going.
P.S.: I finished that game.



unconsideredunconsidered

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 9, 2011

Just one question

What exactly was your inspiration for this game?



TheHungryTigerTheHungryTiger

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2011

Best thing about this game-

Conveyance. Its honestly the strongest part of this game. You create a world for the player to immerse themselves in, and you flesh out every aspect, from the music, to the tone and emotional representation. Though I knew little about the character, I felt empathy for him. I felt like his search for the goddess Gyossiat was akin to the movie What Dreams May Come.

Now, criticisms. the controls. standing still to use shield/gun was a bit annoying to get used to. I recommend in a future production that this control scheme is scraped in favor for something a little bit more intuitive. I felt like the jump was a little too forgiving considering the distance and the slipping from a run or jump on certain surfaces was an unneeded. I know an easier playing curve allows the player to absorb the game's conveyance better, but for a spiritual sequel I recommend stepping up the challenge rating. I really hope to see more work from you in the future.

Lastly, I think this game is a piece of art, a stand alone story. No actual sequels are necessary. Any back story or side story you feel like you wanna explore I think can be done just as well via short movie or comic strip.


People find this review helpful!

owmywenisowmywenis

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 6, 2011

Enthralling

I went into the game thinking it would just be another Au Sable. It was very similar in some ways but didn't hinder me from enjoying the game. The story was great, the audio was great, and the atmosphere was phenomenal. The more you mess around and explore in the game the better the experience is. There were however a few framerate issues that became frustrating at points.


People find this review helpful!

GyridionGyridion

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 13, 2011

Good lessons for others in design.

First of all, I will say that it is dismaying to me that there are not more works of media that dwell more into the kinds of aesthetics and theming that this game does. When you scare your audience, or make a sense of uneasiness in them, it causes them to reflect with subtlety on themselves, and there are few games I find that do that on a reasonable level, even if they are somewhat fear-inducing at times.

The visuals and audio are very pleasing and fitting for the premise of the game, and do an excellent job in conveying the world which both the player and NPCs inhabit--one which is hanging on the fringe of total decay. Worn and weary refugees do a good job conveying where humans lie in the fate of their world's destruction, and the NPCs with the assault rifles do an excellent job at conveying the strife that also plagues them without the need for extra cutscenes or dumping the player into a warzone situation.

The two forms of the player--the first with the shield and the second with the assault rifle--establish a very powerful contrast, especially when the rifle is first introduced. In the context which it is produced, it shows how madly driven the protagonist has become in his quest to save the other deity he loves so much, to the degree that he will take direct offensive action where he would normally be the sort to take passive defensive action, defying the most critical aspect of his being.

The ending is simply lovely, as well, and shows an aspect of romance that I feel should be explored more in media. It teaches an excellent lesson in the fact that sometimes to do the best for somebody you love, you must take action which would revoke your privilege of maintaining that romantic relationship. The fact that the protagonist's newfound violence is what separates him from his love in the end makes it all the more unfortunate and ironic, because he did it for her better in the first place. I didn't have the opportunity to reach the second ending yet, but I assume it is more positive and can be reached by either not using the rifle or not killing any enemies in the first place. The fact that your animal guide is also killed as consequence of your actions is just heartbreaking.

The only quirks in this game lie in the collision--I don't think it was a very wise idea to employ loose character traction on the ground but make exceptions when the character lands a jump or hits a ceiling surface, only by virtue of its inconsistency, although it's not a very glaring issue. Also, the sensitivity for controlling jump height is a tad bit high, but it's managable to work with.

Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with this game.

On a side note, I would love to see a more detailed representation of the player character at least. If one has yet to come into existence, then I would greatly plead for one to be created.


People find this review helpful!