Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2011 | 5:42 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 19, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Necropolis 5 Points Find and reclaim the big graveyard
Zed Slayer 5 Points Kill 100 zombies
The Bitter End 10 Points Lose the game
Victory at Last 10 Points Win the game on any difficulty
Completionist 25 Points Find all five endings (cumulative)
Mountain of Bodies 50 Points Kill 100,000 zombies (cumulative)
Impossible! 100 Points Win the game on Impossible difficulty

Author Comments

After much blood, sweat and tears, you can play this game on an iPad 2 now, with exclusive bonus content to boot. $2.99 in the iTunes App Store.

The sequel to my first game Rebuild! There are new buildings, plotlines, characters, customizable survivors with skills and equipment, new & improved art and hidden endings to find.

I took a crapload of suggestions from Newgrounds and other sites to improve on every little part of the original game. It was a lot of work, but I feel like this game is the Rebuild that was meant to be. I hope you agree!

Reviews


seanah41seanah41

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

pls make it more awsome

Umm firstly when zombies attack make your soldiers shoot the zombies because i thought it was a bug make the character editor better and pls make the map better
that is all i ask but it still awsome


People find this review helpful!

DavionFuxaDavionFuxa

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2011

Far better then Rebuild

I remember playing the original Rebuild several times, and while it was quite good you certainly have learned from it to make a better game with Rebuild 2. It doesn't seem as necessarily difficult to play it this time. For example I was able to beat this game on Seriously Hard which compared to your last game I wouldn't have expected as I could never beat Rebuild on Harder. You've also tweaked the game mechanics around in a fairly cool way in terms of managing happiness, food, and character ability which is also worth mentioning as it means it is more important to keep your survivors alive.

Obviously there are things that could use improvement though but what is also important is what might be added. If you were to make Rebuild 3 you should certainly start considering the aspect of the layout for your game. IE, while the giant square tiled city is fine for the first two games it might make sense to start thinking of other game set ups. Think Civilization V here in moving from 4 sided tiles to 5 sided tiles for example. You may even consider some prebuilt scenarios for players to play or even consider expanding on your existing game play by including more variables to consider like ammo, destruction of tiles with actual events like fire or flooding, or even going the route of considering other enemies besides zombies or other factions that actually show up on your map.


People find this review helpful!

dg1990dg1990

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

Good game

This really was a great game. I normally don't like the whole "civilization" type games, but this one was somehow different and kept me occupied for hours.

But I will say, I was extremely cheesed off, because after about 3-4 hours of addicting gameplay, I was able to take back the entire city. But because I chose to let the Church of the Chosen Ones stay, everyone kept joining them and celebrating until I was down to the character I created at the beginning, and became overrun by the zombies.

And I have to agree with some others: the zombie attacks didn't really impress me. But other than that and the reason I lost, this was a good 'civilization' type game.


People find this review helpful!

w01f1eaderw01f1eader

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

very nice

i particularly love zombie games and this one is no exception... im a bit of an addict for zombies and strategy so when they are both in the same game i go for the over kill... however the only quirk i noticed was that once people got really good at fighting they were even deadlier when theyre unarmed than when others where... makes very little sense when fighting zombies... oh and ammo couldve been a factor in it as well



bobcat64bobcat64

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

Very Good, but lots of room for improvement

The good:
Personally, I don't know where to start. Graphics are nice, concept is awesome (loved the first one). In fact it inspires me to design a similar game. This is technically a TBS (turn based strategy) which unfortunately is a dying genre as some of my favorite games of all time are TBS. I loved how you could change the wording of the diary entry to set the size of the map and difficulty and all. Also I'm assuming the maps are randomly generated, which significantly adds to replay value. The game play reminds me of Civilization with that 'just one more turn' feeling.

The bad:
Some additional sound effects might be good, such as cheering when there's a celebration, gun fire if a gang attacks, etc.
The zombie attack animation was... well boring. (I'm sorry to say that cause I do see the effort that was put into it) Some zombies move to a fence with dudes behind it and then... a static image shows up with some text. Also it would be nice if you could either skip the animation immediately, or have an option to turn it off.
I personally didn't care for the music which is why the music off option was invented :D
The report messages, while random in type get boring. If you can get a writer or someone to just make 10-20 more for each event, it will be much more pleasing to read them. And yes I realize that is a lot of writing. If its going to be random there needs to be a lot of possibilities or it will get repetitive fast.

The vote: 9/10 5/5
I think a lot of game developers can learn from this game, and a lot of gamers could enjoy this. But there's a lot of room for improvement, I feel you have only scratched the surface on this game. Please make another.


People find this review helpful!