Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 14, 2011 | 2:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 14, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place August 16, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Lizards are where it's at.

I've been planning this flash for ages but never had the time. I wish I could have spent longer on this to make it more detailed but work gets in the way. I wanted to play with animating space and landscapes and sky scapes. I'm pretty much happy with how it came out, though plan to make more animations like this in the future, so feedback would be good fellers! I've already seen some things I'd like to change and I think some of the transitions could be smoother, but if I don't put it up now I never will!

Thanks to OcularNebular for the music: http://www.newgrounds.com /audio/listen/382465

Reviews


ShipShip

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

Pretty good but...

I enjoyed the video I just have a few things I'll give my input on.

First of all was the music. I felt it went with your video very well, but it also took away from it. In a movie like this, the music is supposed to be in the background and subtly complement the movie. After all, the video's yours, not the music. However in this movie I felt like at certain times the focus was more on the music than on the video itself, which isn't usually what you want. You can use the music to add effect and emphasize a point in your video, but here it was just loud and distracted from it I felt.

Second, I thought the animation was sharp, and it looked good for the most part. The only thing I was displeased by was the alien cube. I realize you may have been going for an extraterrestrial look, but it just kind of stuck out and that's not what you want.

Other than that I thought it was a very good video and I enjoyed it. I don't mean to be so focused on the negative, but it's just what I think you can improve on. Aside from my two main points I thought the video was great and yo did a wonderful job.


People find this review helpful!

martinlarsenmartinlarsen

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

nice

cute video :)



vegasvladvegasvlad

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

the thing i enjoyed most

was the song on the replay rock at the ending - it made my day!
;]



NEZUENEZUE

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

awesome

The song blew me away i loved this i enjoyed every second of this flash keep up the awesome work!



BitBit

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

Good

The animation is fair. More detail in every part of the animation would be great. Everything was fairly smooth and the lighting effects used in the landscape in the beginning and in the Earthscape as it is lit up are good. The use of shadows was fair considering the lack of detail.

Sound was good. The volume and speed of the music changes with the animation a bit, which shows that you put quite a bit of thought into the music you were using as opposed to simply adding in a song you thought sounded good without syncing it with the animation. That being said, parts of the song sound as though the gain was simply turned up nearly all the way and it sounds almost distorted.

The plot was amazing. The beginning takes place in an unassuming landscape. The last place one would expect to make contact with alien life forms. Then an ordinary lizard discovers an alien artifact which humans would have been astounded to find. The comically startled look on the lizard's face adds to the scene by showing that he does not know what he's found more than anyone else would. The symbols on the aliens' foreheads and their facial expressions imply that they have a much stronger connection to lizards than they would humans. That being said, who's to say this doesn't all take place thousands of years ago, or even millions of years into the future?

Fair animation. Good use of shadows and lighting. Detail needs work. Good audio. An improvement would be to collaborate with an audio artist on your next submission and then both the animation and music could be tweaked to create the effect you want. The best part of this flash is the plot which is both funny and awe-inspiring.


People find this review helpful!
Slinkers responds:

Thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it. I will work on the things you mentioned in future animations.