Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


juanfrijuanfri

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

...

I AM AMAZED ! THIS IS SUCH A GOOD ANIMATION ,THE GRAPHICS AND THE MUSIC ALL PERFECT!
YOU SIR DESERVE A 11/10

PLEASE CONTINUE THE EXCELLENT WORK



Dwight930Dwight930

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

You've done the impossible.

You taken my favorite flash video, about one of my favorite games, with one of the best songs, and made it all better than I could possibly imagine. Thank you for making this beautiful masterpiece for all to see and enjoy.


People find this review helpful!

aws35aws35

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

So Catchy!

I love the music, and the the animation is super smooth. 10 for that.



MetaKnightPWNS4MetaKnightPWNS4

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Nostalgic to the max.

I literally had a smile on throughout the entire thing, but my smile couldn't have gotten bigger when you animated them with their original walking style during "exiting the forest is super simple".
And yes, I got all the little geeky references you put in there. From the bad guy in the chest to the tadpoles on the note pond.
Kudos, Kirbopher(and crew), you have made yet another excellently terrific flash.


People find this review helpful!

LinkirmanzeroLinkirmanzero

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

I've got goosebumps

You've outdone yourself once again. Bravo, good sir! Bravo.
I might just have to buy this again...