Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 9, 2011 | 12:01 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 10, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 12, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Waltz of the Forest"
Performed by Final Boss
Vocals by Kirbopher
Rapping by ShadyVox
Opera by MusicalMike
Arrangement by Psyguy

"Rawest Forest" by Martin Hagwell
"Geno's Forest" by XBrav
"Beware the Forest Mushrooms" by Yoko Shimomura

Back in 2007, the last Flash animation I did as I was graduating High School and entering College was a music video based on "Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars" for the Super Nintendo, a game that I have over a decade of history with. Yoko Shimomura's music is a huge part of what's so amazing about this game, "Beware the Forest Mushrooms" (theme of the "Forest Maze" stage) being one of her most highly regarded compositions. DJ XBrav created a lyrical version of the song that took the internet by storm many years ago, evolving into a meme that fans of the game all know and love. Martin Hagwell later remixed this into the popular "Rawest Forest" song, which I later used as the song for the music video that has now received millions of views in the past several years.

Today, as the last Flash animation I'm doing as I graduate College and enter into the rest of my life: Myself, Blake "ShadyVox" Swift, Bryon "Psyguy" Beaubien and Musical Mike Patterson, have joined forces to bring you a new version of the popular Forest Maze composition from Super Mario RPG, paying tribute to both XBrav's and Marta's remixes as well as Yoko Shimomura's original piece. This animation was done over the course of two weeks, as opposed to the original music video that was finished in one week. I crammed in as many geeky references in there as I possibly could to show my appreciation for this amazing game and I hope everyone who's ever played Super Mario RPG will get a big smile in remembering all the fun stuff from Mario and company's adventures. Big thanks as well to my creative partners that helped in making this song and everyone who supported me during the animation process.

Follow Geno's route there!

Reviews


DeadCobraDeadCobra

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Cool

This was great nice song and music



sparkadassparkadas

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

awsome!

this is a masterpiece. it has great graphics and they match what is said in the song. I love things like this, so I hope there is a better one to come!



SeriousGuySeriousGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Epicness!!!

No,I..I'm...I'm simply speechless! I am used to write long and constructive reviews,bu this time...I'm simply speechless,I cannot find words to describe that masterpiece of a video. Moreover you don't even need any advice,as you are talented beyond compare and I wouldn't dare to give you an advice. I wouldn't be qualified enough for something like that...

Only thing I can say is: keep up the good work,and I hope to see yet another brilliant remake of this epic and legendary song! So far,your SeriousGuy ;)


People find this review helpful!

megaman51413megaman51413

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Mind = blown

First off, it's very rare for me to log in, let alone write a review.

Let me run down the list of things that happened:
1) For the longest time, I've wanted a better version of "SMRPG Rawest Forest"
2) While clicking on yesterday's submission of the day, I happened to notice "SMRPG" in the one above it.
3) I do a double take and see "SMRPG Waltz of the Forest"... like, that song.
4) I see that it's by Kirbopher, the guy who did countless awesome things.
5) I watch and enjoy the actual movie.
6) I follow the link back to the original movie and watch that.
7) My mind is blown when I find out that was also done by Kirbopher.

Oh, and this one was way better, in both music and animation.



juanfrijuanfri

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

...

I AM AMAZED ! THIS IS SUCH A GOOD ANIMATION ,THE GRAPHICS AND THE MUSIC ALL PERFECT!
YOU SIR DESERVE A 11/10

PLEASE CONTINUE THE EXCELLENT WORK