Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


NoxxfordNoxxford

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Huh?

I like how people say it has a great story when it's something so random it'd make no sense if there weren't special effects to back it up. How is this dramatic? The music might make you think it is, but it's not. Great drawings, but the actual film.. Not so great.



Mayor-Of-TownMayor-Of-Town

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 30, 2011

Hmm

I was expecting the story between the two characters to develope rather than the skeleton robot who crushed the girl earning flesh and skin for crushing the girl?

What the heck is the moral.. crush the women rather than try and defend them then you will come out on top? Yeah quite true really .. but was expecting something more sweet..

Was the robot guy their son? That would make it a sweet story.

To be honest I dont really think you thought it through

4 for great animation and music

Author can you clarify your view of the moral for me?

Thanks



SateruSateru

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Meh...

I'll be blunt... I liked the animation, and the music was alright... but that's it. A good story needs good characters, great plot, and it should all flow together naturally in a way that immerses the viewer. I went into this thinking that there was a story, but I was disappointed... I can't say that I hate this, I barely got to know the characters before you took them away. There isn't much of a plot in this... and it's too short in my opinion. I would have loved to have been immersed in this, to actually get an emotional attachment to the characters. Without attachment, without immersion or depth, it is just pretty images.



zargoxoidzargoxoid

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 29, 2011

too short, bad ending, but good animation.

You should of had a better ending the fire guy just dissappeared at the end of the story the plot changed ad was slightly short for the storyline. but the creation of the human looked amazing graphic wise.



SpookEZSpookEZ

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 7, 2011

Meh

Story is not that great. You tried to pack too much into it with not enough time to do it in, which ended up making the story seem just sort of bad.
But the animation was really very good and seemed smooth enough. Even the animation would feel much nicer if you stretched the story out though.