Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


Mayor-Of-TownMayor-Of-Town

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 30, 2011

Hmm

I was expecting the story between the two characters to develope rather than the skeleton robot who crushed the girl earning flesh and skin for crushing the girl?

What the heck is the moral.. crush the women rather than try and defend them then you will come out on top? Yeah quite true really .. but was expecting something more sweet..

Was the robot guy their son? That would make it a sweet story.

To be honest I dont really think you thought it through

4 for great animation and music

Author can you clarify your view of the moral for me?

Thanks



SateruSateru

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Meh...

I'll be blunt... I liked the animation, and the music was alright... but that's it. A good story needs good characters, great plot, and it should all flow together naturally in a way that immerses the viewer. I went into this thinking that there was a story, but I was disappointed... I can't say that I hate this, I barely got to know the characters before you took them away. There isn't much of a plot in this... and it's too short in my opinion. I would have loved to have been immersed in this, to actually get an emotional attachment to the characters. Without attachment, without immersion or depth, it is just pretty images.



zargoxoidzargoxoid

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 29, 2011

too short, bad ending, but good animation.

You should of had a better ending the fire guy just dissappeared at the end of the story the plot changed ad was slightly short for the storyline. but the creation of the human looked amazing graphic wise.



SpookEZSpookEZ

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 7, 2011

Meh

Story is not that great. You tried to pack too much into it with not enough time to do it in, which ended up making the story seem just sort of bad.
But the animation was really very good and seemed smooth enough. Even the animation would feel much nicer if you stretched the story out though.



FullPaperFullPaper

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Vibrant and fiery animation, but soggy plot

First of all, I want to say a great job with the animation and art used in this movie. I loved the water texture you used and the flickering flames on both of the characters. The interaction of the 2D and 3D effects played a good part too, and wasn't too distracting. So based on the visuals, this movie is impressive.

The problem, though, is everything else. It's pretty blatant that the story is about "love and lost", but the development of this is just so bland. The characters barely spent a minute interacting with eachother, and we're supposed to believe that they were made for eachother. This movie should've had some brief sequences so we can know more about the character's connection, but what I saw was a paper-thin story that's supposed to make gullible viewers shed tears for a bland, generic story. What really made me roll my eyes was the blatant soft piano music that's supposed to push people into thinking "this movie has so much emotion."

My other problem with this movie is what people who voted this movie 2's and 0's also hated: confusion and lack of explanation. I thought it was okay to see living, breathing elements with human emotions, but what the hell was that castle? With no explanation, in this crater-based setting, we see a castle-looking thing appear from nowhere to serve basically as a plot device to "kill" the water? I don't mean so much offense to this movie, but that was a dumb idea. It's like the castle was only made to show off 3D objects in a 2D world, nothing else. And in a way, I felt like the fire was the bad guy; recklessly destroying something that wasn't intended to cause any harm to anything. And what really made me confused was the ending. There was just so many questions that needed answering: Where did that metal exoskeleton come from? How did the fusion of fire and rain turn into skin and tissue? What does this transformation sequence into man mean?

So overall, the effects are good, but I have the same gripe with this movie like I do with Avatar: Instead of the cool effects telling an interesting and unique story, you let a bland story tell special effects.


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful