Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


WegraWegra

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 5, 2011

One of the most brilliantly done animations.

...That I've seen in a while. Perhaps since that movie that movie from the Creator of Tarboy made. I mean it the story was breathtaking as well as the plot. The ending didn't make a whole lot of sense to me (and maybe needs a second viewing) But I can tell you that this definetly deserves a nomination despite how early it is for me to say that. That being said I can only hope you have more animations in store for us!



RedGXDRedGXD

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 13, 2011

Smooth

this animation is one of the beuatifulest one i ever seen the movment and color were both equally astonishing
Note: the main idea of the story was quite well thought out though what brought it down was the way the characters were introuduced the relationship,the meet for the first time and suddenly he grows strong feelinf for her?...



JonBroJonBro

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 30, 2011

Visually beautiful, but mentally disorienting.

I like the emotion portrayed by the characters. Their innocent movements and expressions gave them a feeling of grace, and the animation with the fire and the water was impressively smooth. The piano music was pretty generic, but it fulfilled its intended purpose well enough with its simplicity.

However... I honestly felt the storytelling was awkward and the message was really unclear.

When Sparker meets Aquanna, they don't interact in almost any way aside from the momentary discovery that they can't touch each other. They pop into existence and meet within seconds, with no logical reason to have an extraordinary love connection with each other. A mechanical monster appears from out of nowhere, and then as much time is spent with Sparker fighting the beast than with the relationship at the beginning of the movie. Something about the pacing just made Sparker's actions seem unnaturally sudden and overreactive.

The ending seemed to imply that, after the obvious conflict, none of the characters actually died, seeing as there was a water flow that meshed together with the fire and the robotic creature to form a human being--except, in this case, it's a cyborg rather than a real human. Does this mean war is the key to new life? That seems like an odd message. The movie seems to take place in a post-apocalypse; does the message have to do with cyborgs retaining the cycle of humanity? That seems a little strange, too. It might be a much simpler message about love and determination, though in reality, slaying the murderer of your best friend doesn't bring your friend back. Or it might be a message about the inner conflict of a person reflecting who they are, though the post-apocalyptic setting seems like it would be a really cryptic way of sending such a message. With so little clarity, it seems like this wasn't made with a definitive meaning in mind in the first place.

I can see how you could find yourself connected to the simple charm of the characters, but this feels much less like a thought-out story than it does a mere special effects showcase. Understandably, that's all you might have needed to present this to a university, but it's important with an idea like this to know exactly what kind of metaphor you're trying to create, and to have some sense of realism in the events you hope to reveal. Even animations with a lot of heart lack true effectiveness without an equal amount of brain.


People find this review helpful!

perpetual-mindperpetual-mind

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2011

Brilliant animation, but the story suffers.

The animation, soundtrack and design were all spectacular, and its obvious a lot of work has been put in to this.
I have to say though, that I find it a shame you decided to go with this story rather than something simpler.

The characters have a lot of charm, and I could see myself really gaining an emotional attachment to them, but there on screen for such a very brief amount of time that there is no real build up.
You don't get to see there relationship grow, you don't have any real justification for why the flame character gets so enraged at the death of someone he has known for barely a few seconds.

Not only that, but this enemy has absolutely no explanation.
We don't know if destroying these towers is justified.
Are they evil?
Is there some dark force living inside them?
Or is the flame killing them solely for revenge of what could have been an accident?

I would love to see this converted into a series, where the story could build slowly over time, rather than being rushed through it, and we could be properly be introduced to these characters and the threats there facing.

All in all, this was a VERY good flash.
Its just a bit of a shame that the story didn't quite have the power behind it that it could have.


People find this review helpful!

MissLx4MissLx4

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2011

Beautiful, but lacking.

There's no doubt that the animation itself of this piece was beautiful, but I felt as if the story was lacking. The water girl and fire boy only interact for a few seconds, yet the boy does all he can to destroy the monster who killed her. There needs to be something there to show that the two beings are close to each other and that they've been together through tough times and that they made each other happy, which would then absolutely qualify the boy to risk his own life for the girl. 7/10 stars.


People find this review helpful!