Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2011 | 9:54 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 28, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick June 28, 2011
  • Daily Feature June 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Working with the animation students at Brigham Young University has been a real treat. After much blood, sweat, and tears, we have finally completed Alight. We spent countless hours animating Sparker, the "fire boy," and Aquanna the "water girl," to get the effects and character animation looking just right. To us, they're almost real-life characters by now. We hope you enjoy this unique little piece of Flash animation, mixed with After Effects compositing.

For a higher-resolution version of the film, visit http://www.keyserhouse.co m/alight.

Reviews


PariahLordPariahLord

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Very very impressive.

Good work. Keep it up.



KrigzKrigz

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

looks beautiful

visuals are beautiful and the music fits it really well. i can see that a lot of effort went into this. expect a daily first and a weekly top 3... probably gunna sit in the top 100 all time for a bit.



FightingSeraphFightingSeraph

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Worth all the trouble.

It may be another tale involving loss and--to an extent--revenge, but you and your team have done an excellent job with this. Plus, I may be so bold to say that this is far better than Tarboy. Personal preferences aside...

Animation: This was another instance of someone who has submitted something that got the 4.4+ range and is worthy of it. I like how you and your students took old cartoon elements and used them for something other than music or comedy. That frame-by-frame is the kind of magnificent that a very few here have. I think that more people on here should study up on animation basics regardless of style or medium.
Music: It may not have music and voice acting, but the music was excellent and accentuated the mood that you were going for.
Content: As said before, it's another tale of love, loss, revenge, and creation; but the way it was directed and written was astounding. The angle choices were smart on your behalf, and you sure know a lot of shit about staging & composition. Plus, it sure as shit beats what the major animation studios are churning out.

[+]
-Masterful art and animation
-Top-notch direction and pacing
-Great music
-Something different

[-]
-The story, while nice, is somewhat cliche, but not everything needs to be 100 percent original.

Overall: I'm giving you and your students a ten out of ten, and keep contributing!


People find this review helpful!

XDKingdomXDKingdom

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Wow.

It was a sad ending, but...it was like becoming more. The elements finally finding harmony as something more. It was amazing.



KazkariKazkari

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2011

Beautiful

I like how you needed no dialogue too explain what was going on.

The animation and music told it all so beautifully.