Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 29, 2011 | 7:50 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 30, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place May 3, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GemCraft Labyrinth v.1.20 changes & fixes:
(2012.VII.02.)

-Hue mismatch of purple gems (in-game vs map info panel) fixed
-Some more typos fixed
-Field G7 has all gem types available now
-Added the text "Ctrl-click to send all remaining waves" to wavestone info panels
-To improve performance, only 7 monsters get drawn at a time per tile
-The awful lag caused by the limetrap exploit was fixed while trying to keep the exploitable nature (not to ruin the fun)
-When using the wild gem skill, it was impossible to achieve the "no more than 2 gems while spending 5.000 mana" journey amulet with 2 gems

---

We are happy to finally give you:
GemCraft lost chapter: Labyrinth

The latest installment in the series takes you to a huge labyrinth - 13x13 fields -, each playable in any combination of battle settings.
Unlock more settings and skills as you level up, raid tombs, slay apparitions and even some of the dreaded shadows!

The Premium Edition opens up even more possibilities, giving you very powerful skills, and the most fun and challenging battle settings!
(the whole game can be played to the end in the free version too, it's not a demo!)

Have a great time playing! :-)

Reviews


AardwolfAardwolf

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

Good and bad things

There are some good and bad things I experience in this game.

The good:

-The 13x13 labyrinth idea is quite nice!
-I love the walls and mazes you can build, and the boost towers. The building of mazes isn't new of course (see Desktop Tower Defense), but in this game it's interesting because it adds yet another strategy to the already so many strategies. In the first game there were only gem towers, the second added traps, now the walls, and the boost towers were added. Yay :)
-The story is interesting. I also like those demon effects in the epic levels!

-The bad:
-The upgrades are quite bland imho. I found the upgrades in the first game the most interesting, in the second game they were already somewhat less interesting, now even less. You start with only two possible upgrades and then unlock more, and almost every single of the upgrades is to make a certain gem type better. The thing that makes the upgrades bland imho, is that they don't provide a lot of strategy. If there are a few more expensive but more "special" upgrades (special as in, do something more original than just make some gem type better of give more mana), it adds more strategy by letting you decide which one to take for this map. Basically, to me having more different types of upgrades with less possible levels for each, is more fun than having fewer types of upgrades which can each to up to 30 or even infinite levels.
-The fact that monster color order was always the same. I'm not sure if gems of opposite colors are more effective against monsters of the opposite color (I think in earlier versions it was), but if the monsters are going to start at green and end at red in every single level, it's kind of the same color strategy for every level... I kind of ignored this while playing though and just built my favorite gem type the most (the red ones), hoping they wouldn't be getting less effective against the red monsters appearing later.
-Is any of these challenges obtainable at all in the non paying version? I mean, 100 waves if you can unlock only 15 extra?

The Ugly:
-I have nothing against monetization of a game. However my least favorite type of monetization (below ads) is to have it so that a non paying user is greminded that there exists a paying version for the duration of the whole complete game. So this was a downer for me, I don't visit Newgrounds for this.
-The GamerSafe button in the bottom left is a real nuisance that is very annoying and in the way. It makes an annoying popup appear over the glass ball that reveals levels with challenges.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

CoopCoop

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

Much better layout

I've had to wait a few days, while I delve into the depths of this, in order to give it the in depth review that it deserves. Clearly there has been a lot of time, though and effort put into not only this game, but the predecessors and over the past few years, Gemcraft has become one of, if not the premier tower defence game.

I love the story behind it, the way that levelling up becomes an essential part of your tactics and that there is far more to this game than just the strategy of placing a tower in the correct place - traps and now walls have come into play, as has a new AI, where monsters can choose which way they run, thus increasing the Real Time Strategy value of this as a game and setting it apart from Gemcraft 1 and 0.

As if 169 levels wasn't enough, you can customise each level a lot more than previously, adding more monsters (more of a challenge for more experience) and making it so that there are features that would make the level impossible for a newcomer, even to Level 1.

The fact that planning your journey now factors into it, as some levels can open up to three new levels, while others are dead ends, this adds a nice element to the game, that I missed with the other maps, because they didn't seem to be the clearest of indicators where to go, while this one is rigid, bordered exactly on the squares and is very easy to follow. With the gems being built up this time, I wasn't a fan of not being able to start with a pocket full of gems, that I can set up some horrific defences, that allow me to burn through 20+ gem bombs, to make it interesting, before the tougher waves come along.

I can see this game becoming quite a time-sink over the next few months and while I do not begrudge that, I would like to see a few little tweaks here and there - Newgrounds Medals, for a start. We love your games here and I'd love to see some that get a bit of recognition for playing them, otherwise I'll just play them on Armor Games, where I can get access to the other features.

I think that this is the best yet - don't rest on your laurels, make another one and see if you can get even better.

[Review Request Club]


Lots of people find this review helpful!

DjBronkzDjBronkz

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

Awesome

This is one of my favorite "Tower Defense" games, i love this game !



ownst3rownst3r

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

luvz it

this is the best game i have ever played!!!!!!!



dabacondabacon

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 6, 2011

well

i like the old versions of gem craft..

this is just, way too long to play.. somewhat repetitive,, the only way people would enjoy playing this is that if they got nothing to do and is really really dying of boredom..

its not i hate this game.. but compared to the older versions of it, i'd rather play those than this.. and the other games coming out now, way better than this.. sorry..

if this version had a survival mode, unlocked all upgrades, all kinds of monsters, all options opened, no locked because of this blah blah sh!t... i'd play this, maybe..