Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 2, 2011 | 12:56 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 3, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place April 6, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Boom 5 Points Use a bomb for the first time.
Stray Bullets 5 Points Get killed with no enemies on screen.
500k 10 Points Get a score of 500,000 in any level except survival.
Angel Wings 10 Points Play 10 levels as Natalie.
Bullet Hell 10 Points Die with over 666 enemy bullets on screen.
Counter Attack 10 Points Reflect over 100 bullets with a single shield.
Gold Farmer 10 Points Finish any level except Survival with over 3,000 coins.
I Like Swords 10 Points Play 10 levels as Matt.
Killer 10 Points Kill 3000 enemies in total.
Max Power 10 Points Fully upgrade all stats
Millionaire 10 Points Get a score of 1,000,000 in any level except survival.
Pew Pew Pew 10 Points Play 10 levels as Lance.
Power Up 10 Points Fully upgrade any stat.
Punching Bag 10 Points Get hit 100 times in total.
Shields On 10 Points Collect 100 power ups in total.
Shooter 10 Points Kill 300 enemies in total.
Slayer 10 Points Kill 10000 enemies in total.
Sniper 10 Points Kill 1000 enemies in total.
Stars Everywhere 10 Points Play 10 levels as NoLegs.
Tree Hugger 10 Points Play 10 levels as Anna.
Ultimate Blade 10 Points Kill 25 enemies instantly.
Bronze Badge 25 Points Get A ranks in 5 or more levels.
Bullet Master 25 Points Complete all bonus levels.
Gold Badge 25 Points Get A ranks in 15 or more levels.
Pacifism 25 Points Reach wave 33 in Survival without killing anything.
Perfect Run 25 Points Beat any level between 16 and 20 without taking any damage.
Platinum Badge 25 Points Get A ranks in 20 or more levels.
Silver Badge 25 Points Get A ranks in 10 or more levels.
The End 25 Points Defeat the final boss and complete the standard set of 20 levels.
3 Heart Challenge 50 Points Beat the first 20 levels without upgrading your health.
Mass Murderer 50 Points Kill 1,000 foes in a single game of Survival.
Diamond Badge 100 Points Get A ranks in all 25 levels.

Author Comments

Hay guys!
Here's the shooter I've been working on for a while, hope ya enjoy it.

Mouse/Arrow Keys: Movement
Z/Click: Main Weapon: Fast but weak.
X/Double-Click: Sub Weapon: Powerful but charges slowly.
C/Space: Bomb: Clears the screen.
Shift: Focus: Slows down your movement and shows hitbox.
P/Esc: Pause

If the game runs slowly, turn off the graphics stuff in the options.
Also, if you experience any problems with the keys sticking, just use mouse controls instead.

Reviews


SCTE3SCTE3

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

Excellent

To be honest I found this game to be really nice and challenging. However the level I love the most was Avalanche as even if you die that level provides you with a lot of money very quickly as well which is great. Getting A on most of these is easy but getting S takes a while until you build up the strength of your weapons to a good height.

The game play was incredible. Nice to see it was heavily inspired by the Touhou series except you could have at least made the super levels and bosses laugh or have an opening dialog for a more interesting battle and game play experience. The game itself was great. Liked the upgrade menu as well since you will be visiting it a lot at least until it takes the player a few levels to even get one upgrade later into the game which is good. I found this game got harder as I progressed further. Had to redo a few levels since I would end up with Ds and F's which made me sad mostly but after retrying the level after getting an upgrade the level went a lot better.

The enemies were interesting here, nice to see that almost all of them came from Epic Battle Fantasy 3 as well. Some of them I did not recognize such as the phoenix during the desert levels, where did they come from anyways? The super levels were intense since it was just a boss from one of the earlier levels all jacked up. At least you were awarded for taking down a bit of their health at a time as well. Liked how when they got into the mid yellow and red they sent out large waves of bullets at you which was where it got really hard on me later into the game.

The music used here was great. To be honest most of the music HFX does sounds great albeit it is in a flash game or not, the tunes are just great to listen too. Another factor was the boss levels would get better as soon as the boss appeared as the music subtly changed to a darker remix of the level's song that was playing a moment ago.

Overall, this turned out to be a great game. The audio, game play, and bosses were all rather fascinating as well. Even better that most of the stuff here came from Epic Battle Fantasy 3 as well. Great game, excellent work!


People find this review helpful!

Matrix-LuigiMatrix-Luigi

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

I dont like it

It same to be good and all put no i just dont like it , put im a honest guy i tried it for like 20 s i just dont like your caracther sorry . pyrate and cats and flying sword em no thanks.



sora-kill-usora-kill-u

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

Awsome!

From the moment I saw your name, I knew this game would be good, but you have exceeded my expectations.


People find this review helpful!

justsomerandomdudejustsomerandomdude

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

awesome

love it , and you need to pay my eye docter cuz focussing on dodging bullets is hard on your eyes
@KarpOfMagik
thats the point that you can navigate through the bullets how else would it be able to beat , go to youtube search for hardest boss battle or Mushihimesama thats where this game is based off i think


People find this review helpful!

KarpOfMagikKarpOfMagik

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

Well put together, as always.

Graphics are nice, controls are smooth, sound effects are synced.

One thing I question though is the bosses. I understand your idea of using different types of bullet patterns for the bosses attacks, but I feel some of (if not all) of the non-targeting patterns have safespots between the bullets, and then the pattern lasts long enough to easily put a heavy dent in the opponent without taking hits.

But anyhow what I am trying to get to is that I think the bosses' attack patterns should have shorter durations to increase the challenge. Or, for that matter, add different difficulty options.

Well done,
KarpOfMagik