Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 15, 2011 | 10:08 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice February 23, 2011
  • Daily Feature February 17, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Is this a horror or a love story?

I started this in mid October for the NG halloween thing, but once I realized I was going to miss the deadline I started taking my time. This probably took me around 3 months in total as there was definitely an entire month worth of screwing around and playing XBox Live arcade... THAT MONTH WAS WORTH IT THOUGH.
I did all the animation and music and everything, BUT I had awesome help on the voice work from Caxx, which I couldn't have done without:
http://caxx.newgrounds.co m

PRETTY COOL!

Sorry about the filesize, and thanks a bazillion again to Tom for raising my limit, and for the front page and everything else.

OKAY GUYS THANKS

Reviews


StorieStorie

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

You had me going!

I was like dude this guy is fake. Then he turned into the guy and im like oh no. Then he picked up the girl, oh hell no. TENICULE SEX!!!! NOOO!!!!



HollowedPumkinzHollowedPumkinz

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

Amazing Animation

RedMinus, RedMinus, RedMinus, hmm...Looks like I'll have to remember that name because I don't think I've ever seen such talent in an animator before. It only took you 3 months to make this? It's so fluent, so well voiced, so well animated it's so..so..*faints than gets back up* Urr...where was I? Oh, right. Well I have to say It was terrific, this things going to the top of the charts man, if you keep animating on ths level you will get nothing but praise (and apparently jealousy as well).

Everyone has their own style but everybody should aspire to attain this level of fluency, comedy, and great voice acting that this has. It's simply great and rivals some of the best works on this site in terms of animation.

But I love to knit-pick so I'll point out somethings that aren't bad but I noticed and thought you might want to consider.

Well, one thing that I noticed that might enhance the viewers experience that this lacked was some good background music on some scenes. Background noise is fine but background music I feel, can lure in the viewer and make them really feel the scene as opposed to just watching it. I'm not saying that there needs to be constant music like SuperMarioBrothers or anything but some background music here and there can help.

Another thing that I took notice was the obvious Anime style you've achieved through your flash. I'm not saying it's a bad thing, and you really do have a style all your own, however you seem awfully influenced by it perhaps just a teeny bit. I'm surprised how well you utilized it though and I seriously recommend you continue that style as it truly can make a difference, especially Facial styles. Like the twitching eye thing really is the best way to convey a feeling of nervousness. However, you found a great balance between your own style and anime style so I highly recommend not changing one damn thing. Ever.

And well that's it. Even through knit-picking there was hardly a thing I could point out that I wasn't a 100% thoroughly happy with. This exceeds all expectations. It was a terrific comedy short with animation quality to murder over. Good job RedMinus, and please, do us all a favor and never stop animating.

Sincerely,

Hollow P.


People find this review helpful!
redminus responds:

Thanks for being so detailed!

I'm a little apprehensive about the anime style because admittedly I'm anime-influenced (and there's nothing I can do about that at this point), but normally I don't push as far into the genre as I did for this. The idea being that I intentionally made it more anime in order to play up the genre parody angle, but in all my more serious stuff I'm toning the anime angle down a little.

I also think it's really interesting that as anime influence creeps into western animation (and vice-versa), a lot of ideas or styles (the eye-twitch, for example) are adopted or traded and hybrid styles emerge. I think that eventually, EVENTUALLY people might not make such polarized distinctions (this cartoon is so "anime", that cartoon is so "GI Joe") and animators can be judged and graded more on their immediate choices rather than their superficial genre leanings.

Anyways, Thanks!


bruno404bruno404

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

wow.....

the first part was good but the ending thing was stupid


redminus responds:

funny, I kind of thought the first part was stupid and the ending was good


sleepercells000sleepercells000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

lullabies r nice when i'm tired.

yes, maybe everything was nice.

but when you have smtn nice, you don't submit it; you'd better outright make it the most perfect fucking thing you can before you submit bc finished things r worthwhile - for you and the audience alike.

sure, maybe you don't sea it as a necessity - maybe you'd instead pass your time with better stories - but all the while your audience watches this and says smtn along the lines of "wow, this is nice. in 3 months...!? 5/10!" and, yes, i can understand the lack of criticism in an average viewer, but for me - if you'd be so kind as to treat me an equal of your audience - this submission proves you to be negligent; it proves your talent too. if you want me to think you've honestly done the best you can, i'll be upset...

heh, try to understand i'm being as motivational as i am an asshole (if your audience would so consider me for my unacceptable ratings&review)... i'm delighted to know you can animate well, but - three months or not - you can do better.

your storytelling, camera, voice, and visuals r fine with me. nonetheless! you should make your animation more dynamic and more fluid. the characters themselves were drawn realistically, but only their faces showed realistic movement. the running scene should have been in-my-face active, but you chose a more tranquil treadmill style, which also upset me :<

finally, your storyline - albeit nothing wrong with the short animation and, therefore, the limitations to develop a real story - could have at least been smtn new. i'm not a fan of cliche]]]]]]]]]]]]]]. it'd just be my dying wish to have you do smtn extravagant.


redminus responds:

lolz r u drunk? I can barely figure out what what it is that displeases you. You think my run cycles and dialogue animation were under-expressive? I can't necessarily argue against that--if you isolate the parts and judge them out of context, anyways--but I stand by my aesthetic choices and feel that for the most part, for what the IDEA is, it makes aesthetic sense and everything is appropriately chosen.

Really though, as a truly great (in my opinion anyways) NG animator and artist spikevallentine often mentions, everything that you do as an animator or artist is really just practice for the next thing, which is in turn practice for the next thing, and so on. This was perhaps the best I could do with the skills I had at the time, but I agree with you that there areas that could be improved upon and I'll be minding those for my next animation.... which should be soon. I hope you'll get a chance to see it, as by the sounds of your review it might be more to your liking.

CYAL8rBAI


warriorlan1warriorlan1

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2011

wonderful

I loved the art style. I thought it was unique and the story was excellent with the ironic twist of her getting married to the monster. Just goes to show "Don't knock it, till you try it" xD if ya know what i mean