Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


GuineaPigJesusGuineaPigJesus

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 24, 2011

fun and interesting

fun, interesting, and educating all at the same time. My only gripes would be the fact that some of the paintings are very hard to make out, and also the fact that there is only 1 set of paintings. I think it would be a better game to have 3 different sets of paintings on increasing levels of difficulty instead of just the same set of paintings all 3 times. That set, the rankings are cool, even though I got pope easy :p. It's also not a hard game once you beat it in novice level so that's not to the game's advantage.


People find this review helpful!

PoundDotBlamPoundDotBlam

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 2, 2011

Well made...

Nice art history lesson... takes me back... the game has kind of a high brow tone to it... but that goes with the territory...

Only a 6 because the "references" there were advertising links... the shame :)



MontyAreIMontyAreI

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 7, 2011

Decent.

It was entertaining enough, but I would not call these "riddles".



The-LizardThe-Lizard

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars February 11, 2011

newgrounds ruined it

There is a massive "connecting to newgrounds server" thing in the middle that ruins it for me



SkulldiggerSkulldigger

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

OK. Here goes . . .

I have to start by saying that this is a noble, interesting and enjoyable premise. There is no doubt that at least part of the merit of the game is derived from it's subject and the assortment of names/paintings. That being said, it is up to you to not rely on the fame of the artists to carry the quality of your work. What follows is a list that would make an already great attempt even better and more refined.

- An increase in the resolution of the paintings. I literally got eye strain trying to scan the minutia of each piece. Ultimately, Google images came to my rescue, but I don't thing the player should have to resort to that.

- The movement of the cursor is not smooth, and lags at at times. It seems, however, that you have made the acceptable clicking areas large enough to compensate for the inaccuracy of the pointer motion.

- I would like to see some harder riddles. I think a couple of these were really interesting and demonstrated a good working knowledge of symbols of this era of painting. Don't be afraid to challenge us even more!

- Some nice period music would be a great addition as well.

Basically, what I'm getting at here is some suggestions for polishing a wonderful work in progress. Please think of the score as an encouraging indicator of how much better this can be, rather than how bad it may be.

Many thanks for the hard work, and good luck on future endeavors.


People find this review helpful!