Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 21, 2011 | 8:08 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 22, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Why did the egg cross the road? 10 Points Because the chicken was waiting for it on the other side.
Pope 25 Points Get the "Pope" class (10 stars).
Punteggio perfetto 25 Points Achieve a perfect score (300).
Those are for codardi 25 Points Complete the game without the use of hints.
Art historian 50 Points Unlock all the paintings in the gallery.
Enigma Show 50 Points On Master difficulty, complete the game in no more than 60 seconds AND achieve a pope ranking.
Addicted 100 Points Beat the game four times without closing it.
That's a start Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
This is interesting. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
It's art, not porn Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

02/02/2011
PATCH 2 COMING SOON:
-Some hints and riddles will be fixed.
-Scoreboard will be removed.
-The quality of some pictures will be improved.
Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE(22/01/2011):

Daily 2nd...? Oh my God, thank you so much for my first award!

UPDATE (21/01/2011):

I'm thinking of removing the scoreboard. First, some people already managed to hack the game and get impossible scores. Second, nobody really seems to manage to reach over 297. When you're playing a game with a scoreboard, you need to be prepared for any score. It's not exciting at all when everyone keeps "reaching the top of the board" with the same score. And third, you can submit an even higher score when playing on Experienced than Master, which is not fair at all...

In a few days, maybe tomorrow, I'll remove the scoreboard and fix some of the problems that people have mentioned.

IMPORTANT:
- In order to unlock the bonus paintings, you must solve the riddles flawlessly. Without any mistakes or hints.
- Please be patient... It'll take some time for the preloader to show up. It's a big file.
- Don't assume that I'm done with the game. I'll keep fixing the glitches and adding more.
- If you are sure you unlocked all the paintings but your painting count isn't 58/58 in the gallery, try going back to the main menu and enter the gallery again.
- In order to unlock the medal "Art historian", you must enter the gallery after having unlocked all the paintings.
- It's currently not possible to submit your rank to the scoreboard, but Mike's working on it.
- The first song after the main menu is "Sands of Saharah" by Wooormy. I think it was removed, and that's why I couldn't credit it.

Wow, I never thought I would finish this, but here it is: Riddles of Renaissance!

The instructions are simple. Read the riddle carefully and try to find out what it's talking about in the painting. Just point and click.

I know it's not a big game, but it took me a considerable amount of time to make it (to be precise; one year, one hour and sixteen minutes). I had to go through a lot, and, well, I learned a lot! In the end, it was well worth the wait.

The main purpose of the save system is for you to store your paintings, since there are over 50 of them. In case you are interested in reading their descriptions.

This game was inspired by the "Truth" riddles in Assassin's Creed 2. The riddles in Batman: Arkham Asylum also played an important role.

If you are having problems, check the "IMPORTANT" part of the commentary. If it's not there, don't be afraid to contact me.

All constructive criticism is appreciated. Feel free to correct me about grammar and spelling too; English isn't my native language.

Reviews


The-LizardThe-Lizard

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars February 11, 2011

newgrounds ruined it

There is a massive "connecting to newgrounds server" thing in the middle that ruins it for me



bobo081093bobo081093

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 11, 2011

Very Good!

Educational, great background music, awesome graphics and please make another!



JulianLangisJulianLangis

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 8, 2011

Addicting

I stood and played for a hour straight.
Best score is 42 seconds i believe.



SkullMage24SkullMage24

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 8, 2011

Innovative.

Really good riddle point n' click game, and the unlockable Gallery was pretty neat, too.

By the way, is that the Angry Video Game Nerd on the "ADDICTED" medal?


mrty responds:

Yes, that's AVGN himself.


GiantGorilla227GiantGorilla227

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2011

medals...

WHY DID THE EGG CROSS THE ROAD - On riddle 16 click on the egg between the two guys laying down.

POPE - Get a score of 270 or more.

PUNTEGGIO PERFETTO - Playing on Greenhorn, solve all of the riddles without an error.

THOSE ARE FOR CODARDI - Complete the game without the use of any hints, pretty straight forward.

ART HISTORIAN - To get this you must solve the optional riddle of 11 (It is the SMALL dog beside the guy that is hanging upside down's left forearm) and the optional riddle of level 21 (He is the guy in the bottom of the doorway in the far right), you must beat the game AND get a pope ranking. If you don't unlock this try saving the game and entering the gallery again, their is 58 paintings.

ENIGMA SHOW - You must get a pope ranking on master difficulty in less than 60 seconds. After you beat it a couple times you'll remember where each one is so don't give up. I played it on greenhorn to get the other medals and got this one last, by then I knew the exact location of each.

ADDICTED - Beat the game four times.

Their is also three secret achievements:

THAT'S A START - Solve your first riddle.

THIS IS INTERESTING - Don't skip the credits.

IT'S ART, NOT PORN - Click on the chick's tits in the third riddle


Lots of people find this review helpful!
mrty responds:

I would have appreciated if you talked about the game itself a little bit, but thanks.