Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 6, 2011 | 11:12 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 12, 2011
  • Review Crew Pick January 12, 2011
  • Daily Feature January 7, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

***PLEASE DO NOT rip this and upload to Youtube. I've uploaded it myself under the account "ricepiratenewground s". Thanks.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I wanted to try my hand at a typography animation, so I figured I'd give it a whirl with one of my favorite voice acting tracks in the audio portal: Dmac's "Dot Dot Dot", based on a review of Super PSTW Action RPG, created by Rhete.

* Thanks a million, Tom, for the FP! :D
** The background track is from Carl Orff's 'O Fortuna' (1935)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Here's the ACTUAL review by axman13, beautiful misspellings and all (which was deleted, sadly):

"...

i reley dont wan to say this, but i have to now.
this game is so esey. i mean, all you do is hit the spacebar. thats it! how is this an RPG anyway? you cant contrail anything but what it says on the screen! what if i didnt want to buy the potion? what apout quests? all you can upgrade is stranth? there is no way you can lose to the boss at the end! this game is crap! its not even an RPG at all! i mean look at it! in what way is this supposed to be an RPG if you can do quests and stuff? all you do is press one butten the entier time! explain to me! the athore coments al totol lies! is it supposed to be stick dudes? i dont even know how this damn game got the daily 3rd prize, or a rating of 4.26!
pepole think this review is worthles.
go ahead! say it! i dont care! im just trying to make a point here!
blam this piece of crap!!!!

P.S the only reson im giving this a 1 is beacuase the voices where pretty good. but thats it!"

Reviews


TheReviewGuyTheReviewGuy

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 11, 2011

Simplistic genius? Maybe not...

Wasn't going to review this at first, but after watching it several times I realised that I did have something extra to add to the comments.

D-Mac has an amazing voice and the recording was just great. I'm with one of the previous reviewers that the whole package was what made it entertaining. The fact that the review was a little whack, the attempt at reading it and making it funny, and then your little additions in the animation. The 'contrail' bit and the 'stranth, defanse, and halth' parts were just hilarious.

I'm a huge fan of great typography. I've been wanting to learn it for ages and I'll eventually get into it myself, but I have seen a fair share of really good typographies and I'm going to rate this one by the standards of which I have seen.

The whole idea of typography is not the fact that the words can be read, but that they are represented in artistic graphic form. Words often are written in shapes that resemble the actual meaning of the word, or are formed in the premise of the sentence. I liked the 'esey' bit covered in 'S's and the 'look at it' with the eyes and the 'ONE' that trembles in anger.

But the majority of this was just text. It was text in the screen at different angles and rotations. The beauty behind typography is that you have the voice track behind it so reading isn't entirely necessary. This allows freedom to really manipulate the way the text appears on screen. You could have taken a lot more liberties. I'm not saying that every word needs to be graphically represented or influenced in some way, but in this particular one, it was certainly lacking.

And in all honesty, I found the 'P.S.' scrolling up to be just kind of lazy. Sure it's winding down, but a scrolling text? In a typography animation?

It's highly entertaining, don't get me wrong, but as a typography animation it isn't all that outstanding.


People find this review helpful!

cms11211cms11211

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 24, 2011

it is good

This guy mah have gone a bit to far, but he is right. it does need some other things like more upgrades and other buttons.



o0OInuyashaO0oo0OInuyashaO0o

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 30, 2011

lawl~

you bored bastard XD
seriously..
a movie about a comment?

LOL
it was really funny though~
good job and hopefully your reviewers will realize there is a spell check here on newgrounds~

btw my sister played that game and the other day and told me about those comments you were getting~
Its funny cus that person obviously didnt know the meaning of "RPG"



123spacepro123spacepro

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 16, 2011

Its on youtube already.....http://www.youtube.com/

The took it



DannyPDannyP

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 10, 2011

Good

I wasn't like, laughing the whole way through as some people seem to be. I also wasn't really sure what I'd been linked to. I thought it would just be another stupid, overrated, overhyped thing. By the end I was laughing a little at the pronunciation, then laughing a bit more when I read the original review, then laughing immensely as I played the game this thing is about. Thanks for raising my awareness.
The texty stuff was well done, but I'm not giving this a perfect score since I don't consider it on the same level as... better things. It's good, though.


People find this review helpful!