Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 13, 2010 | 6:26 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 14, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Cave half full 5 Points Beat half the levels
Escape 50 Points Beat the game once
SpeedRun 50 Points Beat the game in Speed Run

Author Comments

Hey make sure you're LOGGED IN for this one. The medals unlock new levels and new modes.

This is a platformer with 30 stages where you have to manuevre your way out of booby-trapped underground caves. The main trap is that sand's flooding in, but it'll introduce other stuff along the way.

UP TO JUMP.
HOLD DOWN WHILE IN THE AIR TO SPIN DOWN.
RESTART A LEVEL WITH THE SPACEBAR OR R.

I made most of this game like a year ago, when it was just blue-gray blocks jumpin around. I couldn't work out a good aesthetic where the floor was rising but DOESN'T affect the environment. It was only recently when I was thinkin about something completely different an I thought OH YEAH, DUHR, SAND. SAND IS EXACTLY WHAT THIS GAME NEEDS TO BE ABOUT. Then I came back n finished it, made the guy a desert babe.

One o the early ideas I had was that it was a small girl trapped down a well, and the game was called "Let's Get Outta Here". Another idea was that you were on a sinking ship and water was flooding in.
I got the MAIN idea from a level in Jak and Daxter 1 where you're in this silo and this black poison business is rising up, but there's LOADS of games that do a similar idea. I took most of the code from Mighty Tower, a game I made last year which was mostly based on Meat Boy.

Thanks to Newgrounds fo sponsoring, and everyone else who wanted to sponsor.
Also "Pimp of Persia" is like the best named track on the site.
Also here's a walkthrough:
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=oGACtx48r1Y

Reviews


sleekmansleekman

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

...

I've got nothing to say



holaediediholaediedi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

yee

I think those "easy" levels where the only thing is sit and wait are designed for the lava mode and the speedrun, i agree with the wall jump, its akward.



deathbytatersdeathbytaters

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

an interesting concept

however, one of the issues i ran into is that oftentimes, you can easily just let the sand do the work for you. in situations where the only thing you need to do is scale a certain area to reach the exit, you can simply sit there and let the sand bring you to it.


People find this review helpful!

LadyFrenchLadyFrench

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

Meh its alright

Controls are hard to use, some levels are impossible or so nearly so as to be. game-play not memorable. Graphics ok 3/10


People find this review helpful!

thiaghogmthiaghogm

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 18, 2010

Cool game =D

simple and fun, i like it!!