Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2010 | 7:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2010
  • Weekly 5th Place May 11, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Q: WHY IS IT SO SHORT?????

A: The assignment was to make a 15-30 second demonstration of a character animated in an environment. If anything I went beyond this because mine is over a minute and has some kind of story. It would have taken me a lot longer (and a bigger file size) to do a more fleshed out story, but that was not the requirement of the assignment. I did get an A though :D

I had barely used Maya when I first started the 3D Animation class at the University of the Arts. The first project was to take something in real life, like an action figure or what have you, and model it. I chose the Burning Gundam because I had a Master Grade model of him, but I was just gonna model the head for the hell of it. It was alright, kind of funk looking. Then I decided I would use that head on a full character, but you know, not the ENTIRE Burning Gundam, that'd take too long...But I caved in and made the entire body according to the specs in the model's manual and remade the head so it would look better. I enjoyed the results so much that I decided to use him in my final animation for the class. I needed to have a character with skin weights though, so I chose another copyrighted character: Barney!

I believe it was back in February when I first started building the Gundam, so it's been a loooong process of learning, trial and error, and experimentation. I still enjoy 2D animation but I would love to continue to learn more about 3D

Modeled, Rigged, and Animated in Autodesk Maya. Some UV mapping too (The calfs were tricky)
Textured in Photoshop
Composited in After Effects

Reviews


ColticideColticide

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Perfect!

You captured the God/burning Gundam just like I remember it in the anime! 99.9% of his whole movments where accurate, which I can understand that it can be tough to get them spot on. I wasn't expecting Barney to fire a beam but just sing and get killed. The fact that others are saying "there was no climatic fight." is bullshit because God/Burning Gundam never lost a fight (so the records say), Please make more and hope your 3D skills get even better.


People find this review helpful!

LordlandraidLordlandraid

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

i love you, you love-BRAAAAAHHHHH

i give you an 8 cause the premise is funny, you used a gundam from the best series *in my opinion*, the random 'i'ma firin mah lazer' ish thing, and negative points for the anti-climax, dang those anti-climaxes........ anyway, good job man



WarWiferWarWifer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Was aight!

too bad gundam sucks



BM-1988BM-1988

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

Really well done but.....

The fight between them was very anti-climactic. When I saw barney blast a beam out of his mouth, I assumed an epic fight would ensue, however barney did not even land a hit, he just got disintegrated. It must be very hard work creating this, and very time consuming, which is probably why it ended so quickly.

Overall a nice short piece though, looking forward to future work.



TogmeisterTogmeister

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 17, 2010

One detail

Great but the hand wasn't glowing at all nor did it have the kings mark BUT this is still tops.