Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


RyabovRyabov

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

6/10

Oh, Mr. Phillips, you'd lost your way.

Regular style of animating was changed. And it was changed to the simplicity. That was unprofessional decision, wasn't it? You ARE pro, and you have to work like pro does.

And what about atmosphere of Brackenwood collection? I'm not talking about first two episodes. Practice makes perfect. And in your case it had made Bitey adventures. That was just the wrong thing to tell story about Bitey's childhood in that one. And add author's voise was absolutely terrible idea! The zest of previous movies is that viewers make summarys independently, but stupid voise prevents doing that.

Every genius thing is just simple (you know, I mean that every GOOD IDEA is just simple, difficult animation (but not too difficlt, because viewer will get tired) is pleasant to the eye). Mystical atmocphere of your Brackenwood collection is wonderful. Keep it up... Wait, whom am I telling about animation? You worked in Disney, you should know that plot is 80% of the way to the masterpeace!

You'd better realize that, start working harder and stop hurrying up. Ask someone for colsulting, if you can't do that unassisted.

Good luck, Mr. Phillips.
-Arseny



KostouKostou

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 22, 2009

not as good

narration ruined it.


People find this review helpful!

kreeslakkreeslak

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 17, 2009

I didn't enjoyed sincerly

Well animated but, i think there was no need for a narrating voice.
Ande well... secret society humans appear... again... man this looks its going to be Naruto. That WOW wizard sucked.
I really loved Bitey... but this story you start to show looks so plain. Ill kep watching to see if im wrong. But i think you just crushed all the atmosphere of Bitey. A planet? a whole planet for bitey... now? At the very beginning with no reason you show me that he has a whole planet for himself while i thought that it was just a virgin bast land with unncountable kinds of animals and fantasy, but now i know its a plaet, wich once was inhabitated, that was cheep.
And narrating Bitey's feelings was so boring too, and so "simply human".

I think you just crushed all the subtext of the previous Bitey's animations.

At least i enjoyed the backgrounds an music. I wished he kept beinng an inteligent animal. Sorry for getting emotional in this review but i really loved bitey's animations, they where like a little present for my eyes.


chluaid responds:

a present for the eyes but not for the brain huh? Funny.. that's all that was wrong with the previous eps. Sorry you didn't like it. Seeya! *smilewave*


jmanamoronjmanamoron

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 20, 2009

eh,

i'm actually a tad disappointed in this one, i know you've been getting crap for the narration, i'm actually ok with that, but the "to be continued" episode is honestly a waste of every one's time especally since nothing in this whole thing couldn't be a neat little black screen with text on it. to me this seem like an empty animation like a commercial



LegovskiLegovski

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 16, 2009

Mr. Phillips: I'm really distressed!

You are an absolute genius of visual storytelling. It's pure, it's simple, and it's beautiful. Please don't give it up for this sort of thing. It just ain't the same.


People find this review helpful!