Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


SipherMTSipherMT

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 19, 2009

Boo Voice Over! Yay SFX!

It is of great relief to me to watch a video on NG with quality music and sound design. Spacial placement of instruments in the music are quite professional. I wish more animators would put more time into this part of their creations.

Though i am surprised at how you deviated from your previous episodes. The addition of a human voice to this episode has broken the suspenseful and gorgeous atmosphere of silence you have created in the world of Brackenwood. It just seems that you could have still told us the same information that the voice over did through your brilliant silent storytelling. I was quite disenchanted.

The entirety of NG is on the edge of their seats for your next episode to be released. Keep up the good work. I think ill go buy a t-shirt from you now. Lots of x-mas shopping to do and whatnot.

P.S. - your narrator sounds hot. A bodacious babe i presume?



jacknsally1323jacknsally1323

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 9, 2010

liked it

good story



InyuoInyuo

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2009

Cant fault you for animation

... which was superb, as all Brackenwood animations have been. But I agree with Beantins: this video lacked what the others did. There was something in the simplicity of plot of the prior animations which made them endearing, not to mention the lack of voices. Don't get me wrong, the narration was done well but I just felt that it was unnecessary (as well as the story it conveyed).
Your work is fantastic, but I much preferred snippets into Bitie's life than a tale of the 'king of the Dashkin'


People find this review helpful!

tetris11tetris11

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Dammit Phillips!!

How could you!?
You created a planet, a world entirely on its own, with strange and wondrous animals living out their daily lives like it's nothing. Then you create an animal that relates to our childlike whims mentally and physically (apart from the feet and head) so that you can link us to our your world, but not enough to corrupt the beauty of your creation.

And then what!?
You put wizards -- HUMAN wizards into this world of yours, shattering any innocence that this world may have once had and inserted in its place some kind of twisted reflection of 'how cool it would be to have harry potter in my world' story.
DAMN YOU. You use to be better than this><!>!<!>!<!!



HolyManeHolyMane

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

okay dude ,serious ...

okay okay it seens the history is going nicely ,kind of, but look:
episode after episode brackenwoodseries seemed to get better, in multiple aspects, but this one, i mean i was waiting for something waterllolies quality, this one was somehow inferior,i mean the art the light and all

and, i don't thing you needed the womans voice thing,like old ones, where you told the history only with images, it would be better this way

also, the florest planed thing? wtf !did you realise what you done? brackenwood was somehow a mistery, on the nest episodes you could have added diferent lands and all, but then you just show us a planet that is all florest?! lame :\

i never thought i'd give something Adan Phillips such a low rate
well it jsut seens you lost the skil you had with photshop ._.