Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


andreasngandreasng

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 13, 2009

piloty

Adam.
well done ... this is a true pilot. I hope you will, with this piece, get funding for at least some more concrete development of the brackenwood feature.
I like it, but it feels more like something for "cartoon forum" than actual entertainment for the masses of NG.
I like your narative skills, but I'm also sad that the animation and more technical aspects, which has always been sublime, suffers a bit here and there. Where waterlollies contained jawdropping sub surface scattering, amazing relfection work, absolutly fantastic camera work and well scripted cuts and screen direction - LotD has some nice background info and a good sence of storytelling. But I have to admit that I dont feel the visuals improve over the earlier episodes. Some of the cuts seems off, and one can't help to miss a couple of frames here and there, just to let information sink in.
and this might sound harsh, but what the hell is up with 4:3? It does brackenwood no favor, it only makes backgrounds and compostions seem less interesting. You take full advantage of 4:3, but I know you would be able to do even more awe inspiring compostions with a less outdated 16:9 or even scope, which only few dare use.
Sound is amazing. Music is absolutly fantastic. Kudos to you and your musician.
truly - andreas ng


People find this review helpful!

joebayjoebay

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 8, 2011

I love the animation soooo much!!!

But.. I feel like the narration threw it off.. The point of a good movie is to show, not tell. The things said could have been expressed by his actions. Like looking down at the water, that was a perfect way of explaining it. The title spoke of what the story is about. =D
don't get me wrong though! great work!



TheJMan4275TheJMan4275

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2010

Qwestion,

Is the next 1 out yet?!? IT MUST BE!!! GIVE ME VIDIO! >:))



SoulExodusSoulExodus

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

something strange

I don't really know, Brackenwood series is fantastic, animation too, but this movie, i don't know... i feel empty after i saw it... like if something was missing, i can't explain myself very well right now, but is the way I feel.

anyways, poor Bitey.



brainboy1brainboy1

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 22, 2010

not bad

that was pretty good man.