Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


TheJMan4275TheJMan4275

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2010

Qwestion,

Is the next 1 out yet?!? IT MUST BE!!! GIVE ME VIDIO! >:))



SoulExodusSoulExodus

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

something strange

I don't really know, Brackenwood series is fantastic, animation too, but this movie, i don't know... i feel empty after i saw it... like if something was missing, i can't explain myself very well right now, but is the way I feel.

anyways, poor Bitey.



brainboy1brainboy1

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 22, 2010

not bad

that was pretty good man.



GreyAcumenGreyAcumen

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 10, 2009

Any chance we could get a "Unnarrated" option?

Don't get me wrong, her voice was beautiful to listen to, but most of what she was saying I was able to easily get just from context and/or context from previous episodes. One of the things I enjoyed so much about the Brakenwood series was how much character depth and motivation could be shown simply through body language and interactions.

Having the narration almost feels redundant. I'd personally enjoy if future episodes ran the animation WITHOUT the narration, then had a big "REPLAY WITH NARRATION" option at the end. (of course, also include the option to turn it off and on in the bottom corner or something throughout the animation ) This would help people who had trouble getting context, but not get in teh way for people like me who prefer to have the story told through action. Also, having it as an option at the end would give us a reason to watch again and see how much of the context we were actually able to get correctly.


People find this review helpful!
chluaid responds:

That's exactly what I plan to do if I can get the actionscript for it. A button that toggles between uncut narration, edited narration and no narration. If I can get this working, I'll update the movie.


deathbytatersdeathbytaters

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 12, 2009

Conflicted by this

I've been with Brackenwood since the first episode, and I've truly enjoyed every aspect of the world, especially Bitey. however, this sort of seems disappointing for me. as nice as it is to find out more about this unusual character, I've always found the fact that Bitey is a blatant a$$hole to be his most appealing feature. nothing wrong with a little characterization, but i hope that whatever you're planning doesn't change him too much. he sits in the perfect area of being a total jackass, but still being entirely likeable despite this.


People find this review helpful!