Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


FroFro

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

I enjoyed it.

~ Animation ~

Almost all animations were very smooth. I did notice that when the little Bitey was running away at first that it seemed a bit choppy. Almost like you didn't go into the detail enough to make his legs bend like it showed when he was older. Other than that the animation was very smooth and professional like. You do a great job of using pans, zooms, and moving the camera while the animation is going on.

~ Graphics ~

It was odd in this submission because sometimes I felt like you hurried some scenes and they simply weren't as drawn as well as you usually draw things. Again, for the most part things were done great and the parts that seemed hurried were few in far in between. I love the landscape and the amount of details that you put into things such as the forest and the water.

~ Story/Content ~

From what I remember you haven't ever really included story and it was basically just Bitey running around and causing trouble with the animals around the forest.

Is this because you've gotten so many complaints about story and plot? I've never had a problem with them personally, but I remember you getting a bunch of 0's on Waterlillies because it didn't have a plot to it or anything.

It's what makes a good author though. One that keeps his style, but still goes with what others want. I personally wouldn't mind either way, but I find that the addition to a story really helps and clears things up. This could become a really cool series if it started to follow a story and I can see it really going a long way.

~ Audio ~

The voice was pretty good and was a nice addition. This lacked a little bit of sound effects, but it really didn't hurt that bad since it was more of a submission to tell the background story and everything.

~ Overall ~

I felt that it could have been a bit longer. Also, every now and then I felt that the animation and graphics were a bit hurried, but overall they were done really well. The introduction of the story was pretty cool, but I do hope to see a lot of the trouble making in future episodes mixed in with the plot.

Keep up the good work. First review that I wrote in quite awhile.


chluaid responds:

Thanks for taking the time to write an in-depth review. My responses:
I'm wondering if the choppiness is a result of the Flash player or browser, as this is probably the most graphically intense of my Brackenwood shorts to date. The reason I say that is because much of Bitey's animation is on 2s and 1s, so at 25fps it should be very smooth. I think many people will only really see it at the proper smoothness and frame rate when I've submitted to YouTube.

There are a few scenes that I've cut back on character detail, such as lighting effects (the amount of colours in Bitey's hair is really inconsistent for example), but I've gone a bit OTT with backgrounds and effects.

For story, Bitey and Brackenwood have always had a deep dark past but up until now I've kept it quiet because I didn't want to spoil the big reveals in the feature film. This series of storylines however will be kind of parallel to the feature film so they won't give too much away.

thanks again for the great review.


traintrack6traintrack6

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

WAHOO!

I have always enjoyed your Brakenwood shorts, thinking that they were more fairy tale material with a fantastic Celtic style and entertaining storyline. But this... this has just blown my mind. And a feature- length in the works, too? Holy snap. You most definitely deserve it.

Is the shadow beast in the beginning related to the YuYu in some way?

Be sure to let Ms. Reynolds know that she has a lovely voice :)


chluaid responds:

I'll pass that on to Emma :)


SebineSebine

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Another Epic

In the world of Brackenwood.



sambammersambammer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

oh, bitey

will you ever have friends? nobody likes you.
i liked the movie though. the intense emotion really hits you hard.



ant109ant109

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

The perfect flash

Now with all of this time and effort of course some ppl wont give this a 5. TO ALL OF U THAT DIDN'T GIVE THIS GUY A FIVE FUCK YOU . U ARE A COCKSUCKINGWEASEL THAT WILL NEVER AMOUNT TO ANYTHING THIS AUTHOR HAS MADE! HIS TURD ARE WORTH MORE THAN U


chluaid responds:

lol! You tell em ant!
*hides behind ant shaking fist at haters*
:P