Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 9, 2009 | 11:48 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 15, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick December 15, 2009
  • Daily Feature December 10, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This is the story of the last of the dashkin. The people are all gone and in a world of innocent animals, the solitude, the sadness and bitterness have corrupted his view of life. What does the future hold for such a tragic creature? Will he wander the planet, forever alone until his death? Will he always be the wild King of Brackenwood?

--
It's a massive honour to be nominated for a 2nd Tank Award, thanks NG! Thank you for front page, all the great reviews and the incredible score for Daily Feature.
--
Thanks to Brackenwood fans and donors for all the support not only during the 4 weeks I spent making this, but also in the 2 years since I submitted Waterlollies.

Since then I've been working on the Brackenwood feature film outline with my good friend Ryan O'Loughlin. With no plans for a new web episode in the meantime it occurred to me that Brackenwood fans could be waiting years for the feature. I didn't want to abandon them altogether, so this new movie is my way of staying in touch with them and the NG audience.

This is the first Brackenwood short to break away from the "character introduction" style movies that had little or no character motivation and plot. This is a story, not only answering a lot of questions, but asking just as many new ones.

I used Flash CS3, the .fla is over 300MB (half of that is audio) and it took me 4 weeks.
Don't worry I won't be leaving it another 2 years. I plan on starting storyboards on the conclusion in jan-feb 2010.

Reviews


muttdoggmuttdogg

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Smiles

This is my favorite edition of the Brackenwood series.



P1KM1NM4NP1KM1NM4N

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

This is beautiful!

Amazing job as always, Is there going to be a feature film then like you say in your comments?
If so I am totally going to be in line waiting for the first release of the movie!
This could totally be worth alot of money if you ever decide to commercialize!



749-Pi749-Pi

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Great flash

Don't worry about the narrator. If you left out a narrator, it would only make it more artsy, and force a situation where people can "Get it" and "Not get it"

Excellent work.



MECHAanimatorMECHAanimator

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Master piece...

You are great animating! I heard you used to work for Disney. Is that true?
Anyways, I love your brakenwood animations, the brakenwood world is full of color, cool creatures and the music fits perfectly. I think you are my favorite animator on the internet.



Moocow131Moocow131

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2009

Narration

i agree with anyone that this is a really well done animation and i love the rest of the brackenwood stuff. but the use of the narrator seemed to only be there to assist those without an imagination to follow the story which is fair enough but i always loved the way i could see bitey without someone talking about him for me

the narrator never was needed and in my opinion it does allow more people to appreciate it but takes away from it for certain people including myself :)