Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 21, 2009 | 8:50 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 27, 2009
  • Daily Feature October 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps 5 Points Make Gretel walk for the first time.
Slingshot Breakfast 5 Points Obtain the slingshot
Bitch Slap 10 Points Shoot mom in the face
Honey Horror 10 Points Get Bee Death
Sucked Dry 10 Points Get Spider Death
Time is Running Out 10 Points Get the clock
Electra Complex 25 Points Get Dad Carriage Death
Gretel Unit 25 Points Take 200 shots with the slingshot
Here is Mommy! 25 Points Get Axe Death
Kain 25 Points Kill Hansel
Kiss That Cyuke 25 Points Get Rabbit Death
Pecking Order 25 Points Get Crow Death
Pest Removal 25 Points Trap the squirrel
The Flamer 25 Points Get Fire Death
Clockspert 50 Points Solve clock puzzle
Get Stoned 50 Points Get all 10 stones
Pop, Rock and Drop It 50 Points Drop all ten stones
Grimm Master 100 Points Get all 10 deaths

Author Comments

GRETEL PART 2 IS OUT!! GO PLAY IT!!!

Added saving into the game, the game now auto saves so you can come back later and finish your game!

To get the Grimm Master medal you have to get all 10 deaths in ONE playthrough. You must then wait till the END of the credits.

800,000+ views!!

Thanks everyone for the many kind reviews! We're hard at work on part 2...

After a long time in development, the adventure begins. This was a labor of love. Hand painted backgrounds and characters all scanned and worked up with Flash. Everything should be working alright, but if you notice any major issues please let us know and we will fix them right away. Thank you Tom for the sponsorship! It lets us keep making games like this. Special thanks also to Mike Rudolph for making such excellent music. This is part one of a three part game so stay tuned for more Gretel and Hansel!

For some reasons the walkthroughs below are showing up with an extra space in them, when you copy and paste them into your browser just remove the spaces.

Walkthrough here (remove the space after hanse):

http://www.gretelandhanse l.com/walkthrough.html

Video Walkthrough (remove space after .com/wa):

http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=UouWyOhW7kk

Reviews


Helios93Helios93

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2009

Awesome game! Horrible controls....

I realy like this game. From its artwork, sense of humor, to the simple point & click gameplay.The controls geting stuck is the only flaw.


People find this review helpful!

Aya18Aya18

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2009

totally love this game!!

this is my second time playing it LOL!! i just love your work!1loved that it was handpainted.., its a really great game!! i love that you made hansel ad gretel creepy cause i sooo love twisted fairytales especially when they are super creepy, cant wait for part 2!!



EnnuisEnnuis

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2009

Gorgeous, Grim, Marvelously Morbid

This is perhaps one of the best point and click adventures I've played. First and most obvious plus is the artwork. Hand-painted with an original style, it immediately sets the mood. The music also reflects this; appropriate for a fairy tale, though still bearing an eerie touch.
Possibly the best comment I have about this game is its playability. A big problem I have with most point and clicks is the tendency to either make the necessary clickables blend in with the background so much, that it becomes part of the scenery or that the where/when/how to activate or use certain items is annoyingly particular or simply doesn't make sense. Here, the necessary parts are either clear to see and/or sparkle lightly enough to be still be overlooked, but obvious enough to know its purpose when spotted. Also, Gretel will have a thought bubble pop over her head when certain items can be used, giving the players a clue as to what needs to be done as well as letting them know that the item(s) will be used at that spot. This keeps the game from being tedious in the pointless, eye-straining searches that other point and clicks tend to have.
Ah yes, and let us not forget about the deaths. I won't spoil them for any who haven't played, but the gruesome deaths are worth the slight pause they put in the game (thankfully, it doesn't restart from the beginning. Only in the latter cart section does it set you back slightly, though not enough to be too much of a hindrance).
To conclude, I personally look forward to the continuation of this game and hope it continues along the same vein of rich art style and chilling mood.


People find this review helpful!

crashpro3crashpro3

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 20, 2009

2 metals

i need 2 metals more do get all the metals in this game but this is cool game
easy for my



Yuki12Yuki12

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 19, 2009

I love it!

I don't normally play games on newgrounds, that much anyway. This game turned out to be a great game that I really enjoyed. I love point and click games. I loved the art and the storyline. When I found out we can get badges, I decided to get an account here. Keep it up, I can't wait for the next one. :)


People find this review helpful!