Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2009 | 6:22 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 10, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 14, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE] Thanks for front page and Daily 1st again, people! It's good to know that people are still enjoying the series despite the delays.
Also, a special thank you to all those that have sent me donations. It's really helping me out. =)

[EDIT] Okay, with any luck all of the problems have been fixed now. Many of you may need to clear your browser cache in order to see the update. Chances are there are still some bugs I've missed, so if you find any, send me a PM.

Thanks ever so much to Tom Fulp for raising the upload limit for me. ^^
Wow. One year already, huh? Time sure flies when you're not having fun.
At least I didn't keep you guys waiting for 16 months this time. lulz!
Anywho, this episode has been the bane of my existence for the past few months. Trying to build up the motivation to work on it after all the stuff I've been through recently.
I experimented a lot with this episode. Mostly with Swift 3D for the Doomship and the hand drawn close ups. I did start using high res sprites for the close ups early on, but I later opted for vector drawings because they're clearer and quicker to make.
Back to the 3D stuff though, I am aware that the Doomship looks kinda primitive, but personally I kinda like it. It reminds me of the old Starfox game on the SNES. Plus I didn't like the idea of fully rendering it which would have made the file size skyrocket.
Anyways, I've kept you waiting long enough. Thanks to all those who have been patient and enjoy the latest episode of Super Mario bros Z!

Reviews


TheCadreTheCadre

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Excellent

Showing their faces and emotions was a great touch. I am very impressed, well done, Alvin!



JewelwriterJewelwriter

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

!!!WOW

THIS.. HIT.. EPIC IN ALL WAYS!!!

Who the world can deny such an epic fight and storyline blended so deeply that I was on the brink of tears. WE WANT MORE AND WE WANT IT BETTER THAN THIS!

*Sweatdrop* Sorry... got a bit too excited.



kemustakapokemustakapo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

AMAZING!

I enjoyed that thoroughly. Please make more. :-)



HyperGumbaHyperGumba

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Tweening at it´s best. Kudos to you!

I´ve been waiting a while for the new release,but I never expected it to be finished already after one year. Since the 7th took 16 months I expected at least that amount of time for this episode to be finished. Well,you promised you get it done faster and you did it. According to the filesize I thought it would be rather short because off all the effects and 3D renders n stuff but it was indeed very long (not the longest but still).

Plot is written very well,I am always amazed how you manage to keep the roots of Mario and Sonic but create such a great storyline with both of them,there really is nothing I could critizise about the story. Also the addition of timeless memes like the Hotel Mario intro made the story quite hilarious,and it was decent all the time.

As I speak of decent,the animation itself was pure awesomeness. The sprites were all greatly used and a large amount of custom sprites was used throughout the movie. The use of tweens for this series never gets old,in every episode you top your previous works by even better animation. Though the movie lagged at some points (which I think resulted of my lame CPU speed) the animation was flawless at most of the parts. I will consider you for the King of Tweening.

Music was decent,it suits the animation all the time,the sound effects might be overused,but it all originated from your series, it isn´t annoying at all. Also I love voice samples from a wide variety of games,like from M&S atOG ,Mario Powertennis and so on. The use of CDi content (like mentioned some paragraphs before) gives extra credit.

My favourite thing about this all was the excellent animated battle scenes,the slaughtering of that much minor enemies like I´ve never seen it again since TRotMK ,but even more intense. Immense suspense created by the mysterious Baslisx,who is one of the most original characters in sprite movies I´ve ever seen,this tragedy with his friend is a good reasoning to fight.
I actually think that Stuffwell (!) might save Mario,since I think he didn´t leave him since they took off with the new Sky Pop.

People might say sprite movies are unoriginal as hell, when not only sprites are taken,also characters,locations and sounds. I personally think that a sprite animator deserves real respect when he wraps all the borrowed stuff up in a action packed movie,with original ideas and story and brilliant use of own custom sprites,drawings etc etc. As long the sprite rippers and others get credited for the work they´ve done,it´s okay to make sprite movies.

Alvin,you Sir made my day. Holidays just started and this was the perfect thing to start them with.

Props to you, don´t rush your work and take a break if you need to. I´ll be waiting for episode 9, and I wonder if you could even top this piece of work.


People find this review helpful!

DompaDompa

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2009

Awesome!

very nice