Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2009 | 3:03 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 17, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 21, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Flight 5 Points Find the wings.
Weather Mage 5 Points Turn off the rain.
Dominus Lux 10 Points Slay five darklings.
Deviation 25 Points Unlock all boxes and switches.
Resolution 25 Points Complete the game.
Sensitive Nose 50 Points Find all of the mushrooms.
Sly Fox 100 Points Earn more than 35,000 points.

Author Comments

This is probably my best game to date. I wanted to make something more accessible, as most of my flash games have been too complicated for my family to play. :3

I really hope you guys enjoy it, I think it's the most effort I've put in to anything. A big thanks to everyone who helped me test, and Tom and NG for the sponsorship!

As always, leave a comment! I love reading them.

EDIT: The game has version detection, but YOU NEED FLASH 10 to play it. If you have trouble loading the game, please send me a PM with the details.

EDIT: Because nearly everyone is saying they can't figure out the boss's pattern, I've made a slight change that should make it more obvious. Once the game update is approved I'll let you guys know and you can try again with the new pattern. *Alright it's up now*

********** FOR ANYONE WITH LOADING PROBLEMS**********
If you're getting a black screen after the Newgrounds and Particlasm screens this applies to you. This might also help with the loading bar freezing. This was posted by a Kongregate user (thanks Knork):

"If the game does not load past the ads make sure that ngads.com and ads.newgrounds.com are not being blocked in your hosts file. Which is located under C:\WINDOWS\system32\drive rs\etc
If they are, uncheck the "Read-only" attribute and edit out those two lines."

If this works for you let me know.

Reviews


FlashiaFlashia

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2009

Perhaps THE beautiful Flash Platformer Competitor

I've just finished playing William and Sly, and I must say, it's perhaps the TRUE competitor we've all been waiting for. If you don't get what I mean by that, that's okay. It's relativly unimportant. Anyhow, let's get the show on the road already!

The Story is nothing special. William wants you (Sly) to hunt for fairyflies to restore his runestones to get to the Storage. What is special, however, is the sharp writing. Sharp writing is rare these days in both Flash AND Official games, so major points for that.

The music is there, but not obvious until you get to the boss, which may I say that the boss music rocks. The sounds, however, was one of the strongest points of the game.

Graphically, it looks PHENOMINAL! Sly looks like he's both fully rendered and from an offical Disney Animated Movie. The backgrounds (especially the trees) are nothing less than spectacular. This is perhaps the strongest part of the game.

Now for the gameplay. It's a really nice platformer. I was glad there were no bottomless pits whatsoever. Also, Sly controlled well. The fairyflies were also in the meduim difficulty to get. However, when you teleport between runestones in a flash, there's a VERY potential danger for epiletic seizures. You might want the flashes when teleporting to be less..I don't know. Flashy? We don't want another 'Electric Solider Porygon', do you?

Unlike the game William and Sly is competiting aganist, this is one BIG BIG world, instead of a big world, connecting to other big worlds. This can be a drawback, however, as this game doesn't last a TENTH as long as the other game. It was easy to get lost at first, but that obstacle became mininized when you get the map.

Speaking of the map, let's talk about it. As I said, it pretty much prevent you from getting lost, so long as you could find the nearest runestone. Now here's what I found...not good. While thankfully the map lists where runestones are, as for the other stuff, like mushrooms and chests, they are not. I sometimes looked for them and couldn't search for them on my map! But it's not gonna take a point off since it's thankfully optional, or I would've...never mind that.

However, I didn't like how you used SHIFT to access the map. Why? Stic. Ky. Keys. They are always a niusence. Maybe something like W would work?

Also, the darklings were annoying. They were placed inconviently and more often than not, the whilte magic when you activate a runestone doesn't last long enough to dispel those annoying idiots.

What's the worst part? The boss. Simply but, he was so frustrating that I'm considering docking down a point for making him so frustrating. Hmm...to dock or not to dock a point for the boss. Eh. I won't. But it's probably a 9.55 or something.

Still, William and Sly is an outstanding game. It's almost nothing like we've ever seen before. Smooth controls, sharp writing, and excellent gameplay (except for the boss) makes this game just as exceptional as the game William and Sly is competiting aganist.

I give William and Sly a Ten out of Ten. As a result of this score, WIlliam and Sly has earned the Platinum Medal. Congraduations.


People find this review helpful!

mikailusmikailus

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2009

stunning

Animation, composition, colours, game play... just stunning.

What would make it even greater is if a different landcape would be loaded each time one starts or restarts the game. Would put some variety into it. I kinda missed the old landscape, though. *tear*



DavidivovDavidivov

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 25, 2009

great but.....

you should make the ending easier i stopped playing bcause of it otherwise great game



PianoGuyPianoGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2009

Excellent game.

BOSS GUIDE!

Really. It's not that hard. He attacks across the bottom, then moves across the bottom without attacking. Then he attacks across the top, then moves back across the top without attacking. Rinse and repeat.

It's sad seeing bad reviews because people couldn't figure out the ridiculously simple pattern the boss follows. Idiots...



BurninbearBurninbear

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 25, 2009

Hmm...

Yeah, well, great animation skills, and beatiful sounds.
But nothing more than that :/,
Just running around map collecting meaningless things
and then at last, the boss... the boss could have been much funner.
add somthing else than just 1 attack and 1 break, the attacks were totally
random and dint make any ''Rotation'' / tactics you could use.


People find this review helpful!