Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2009 | 12:19 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 20, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 04/21/2009: Update Boss and Elf Warrior.

Developer's Note:

After several months of development, polishing and exchanging ideas with many great players, reviewers and sponsors, we are finally able to release The Great Siege on Newgrounds.

The game features a great combination of impressive defense gameplay, sharp graphics, competitive balance and immersive theme music. The building system in the game pays tribute to Heroes of Might and Magic III, one of my personal favorite, while the battle system includes elements such as the catapult, tank transformation, and traps that make the gameplay more dynamic without being overwhelmingly complex. The Great Siege is generally a very simple game but it has a subtle depth of strategy that embraces many possibilities.

it was my great pleasure to work with Selcuk and his group on the original music score for The Great Siege. The amount of time they've put into the works and the creative energy and inspiration they brought into this game through their music are incredible. Every music track is not only perfectly fitting to the game's theme, but also elevates the atmosphere of the game to another level.

Above all, I really hope you guys will enjoy this game.

Let's keep PLAYING and keep in touch.
-------------------------
Game Description:
Friends and comrades, my brothers! The Dark Lord has sent his minions upon our city to end the last surviving bonds of humanity. We cannot let our city fall into the wrath of darkness and watch our home fade into another shadow of abyss. Brothers of humanity! Let's load up our cannons, fire up our catapult, and let us march through the gates and send those filthy devils besieging our home back to where they belong!!
-------------------------
Instructions:

Hot Keys:
City Mode:
[M] Market
[B] Building

Battle Mode:
[A]Build Army Panel
[S]Send Army Button
[D] Command Army Panel

Fire Catapult:
*Mouse: Click-and-Drag at the head of Catapult to adjust target, release mouse to fire.
*Keyboard: Use arrow keys UP + DOWN to adjust catapult target, SPACE BAR to fire

Dig a Trap (Foot Soldier only Ability)
Click on the Foot Soldier in order to make it digging a trap. The trap will take a while to finish, so make sure you have people cover up for him.

Tank Regular/Tower form
Click on the Tank to transform it into a Tower.
Click on it again to turn it back to Regular form.

Resources Conversion:
In the Market, you can convert your Bonus Points into different resources.

Upgrade and Level-Up
Most buildings and weapons in this game can be upgraded. Foot Soldier and Elite Guard can also be leveled up to become stronger units.

Reviews


shibby-yeah-bobshibby-yeah-bob

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 29, 2009

awesome

i loved it muchly good game


People find this review helpful!

SirJentSirJent

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 29, 2009

Great

Dude! This Game is Way Exellent. The graphics were good and also the gameplay! Luv It!



fpalex89fpalex89

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2009

Good

I really enjoyed this game - though it was slightly annoying when they turned invincible for a while after getting hit, the game overall was fun and very enjoyable. I liked the HoMM feel to it, and once I finally got the winning strategy down, it was fun to implement.



gen0c1degen0c1de

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2009

very good game

I had some bugs like when i have bought some army and can't tell them not to go out.
Pretty good Idea with the traps and the diggers! But I played it with my friend, so we managed to dig and aim at the same time.. otherwise it would be a big problem.
Same problem with the spirit - doesn't come while i'm sending troops...
Overall the game was a bit easy.. especially the last boss.. The hardest boss was the one before the last one.. with the 2 swords. I couldn't defeat him 3-4 times.. so I was forced to sell some score for gold and stone.
Keep it up! Can't wait for the second wave of the Dark Lord ;)



psykosockpsykosock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 28, 2009

sweet game.

It was a really nice game. can't wait to play the second