Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 17, 2009 | 9:14 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 19, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place January 21, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT: hey thanks NG but that score is pretty silly don't you think? vote 4 please !
and a big thanks to whoever for the front page yo.

=========

Hi, how are you?

This is a demo reel pieced together with little bits of animations from the past year or so. There isn't a plot or story or anything really, it's just a little hub of my best work all in one place.

The song is "Theme of Luxury" by Fantastic Plastic Machine.

Special thanks to all the Aura Core members! You guys are kool kats.

Reviews


FratalianeseFratalianese

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2009

Review for: "Demo Reel 2009"

Dear Artist,

I'll sum up my review since I'm limited here.

Your animation is at a very high level. I'm very glad to see such fluid movement in so many parts. It's very refreshing to see so few shapes simply moving back and forth. This is what more flashes need; don't zoom in on half the body and move the silhouette, but rather, animate the actual walking motion. My dear artist, you are steps beyond several of other artists here. As such, it's time for YOU to raise the bar again.

My first reference goes to the gray figure trying to balance him/herself while walking. I'm referring to the technique of motion-blur. A very nice trick to displaying fast motion without actually "displaying the fast motion" is by substituting the limbs for several lines for a very short period. This is a fine technique. However, it should not be over done; in the fighting scene, I saw that you were capable of drawing actual limbs in fast motion; the puncher's arms could still be visible, and all you added were little red streaks to match the red boxing gloves. I would suggest avoid using to many "speed-lines" - like in the gray balancing figure - and more actual motion blurs - like the boxing/fighting scene - to depict fast movement. Mind you, speed-lines are perfectly fine. However, when over done, you might as well be drawing a stick figure because it's nothing but lines. You don't show signs of abusing this trick, but please just be mindful of such things.

My second reference goes to roughly half-way through the flash where a girl is presenting a tennis racket and holding a tennis ball to a male dressed in a dark green coat. This is what I love to see more of: stillness. You seem to understand that you can move an audience with stillness. You don't have to have flashy acrobatics or dyanmic sword fighting to get a chuckle or two. I would really love to see more of this, especially from YOU! Show to me that you fully understands what it means to be still.

You also did several plays and practices with lighting and shadows. I would say about one third of your skits had shadowing and two thirds didn't. I would love to see a flash artist use actual shadowing and lighting effects in motion. You did it very well for the walking scene (the woman and the two men). The shadowing on the clothing didn't move at all. So, I'm wanting to see you play with that.

Unfortunately, I cannot rate your flash on anything else. Since this flash was a presentation of your practice, I will not grade you on the flash content at all. Though, as a personal preference, I'd love to see more of that crow thing in the end: nice use of background and FOREground.

I will not rate your review on artwork or length. You, as the artist, determine what skill level of art you are at and what you need to improve on. Length, in relation to this flash, is irrelevant. I will say that you show a large variety of art styles, and I hope you don't confine yourself to only doing "cartoon-y" flashes or "realistic" flashes or "dramatic" flashes. In the future, demonstrate to me your full arsenal, and I'll write you my best review.

You're a special exception, since you already show so much promise, I cannot guarentee a score of 9 out of 10 should you submit material of the same quality next time. I'm looking forward to seeing your evolution as an artist.

Thank you for taking your time in reading my review. I look forward to witnessing your subtle improvements.


People find this review helpful!
Jeinu responds:

i am not used to such long reviews! thank you very much for taking the time to write all of that, I appreciate it, and will use your input to better future projects. thanks!

--ps, as you referred to the 'walking cycled' that showed from thigh up (clearly showing i didn't animate the legs at all hehe)... in the original the dimensions were very different, and it only showed from waist up. glad someone actually noticed it though ;) thanks again


urpie1urpie1

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 28, 2009

wat?

its all good but wat did i see???



DethitikusdefianceDethitikusdefiance

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 27, 2009

Nice

For a demo reel, that was pretty cool. It would probably help if I saw all those videos though



l0ltvl0ltv

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2009

Beautiful..

Just simply amazing!!



whattheduce18whattheduce18

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2009

crazyness

im giving it a ten because altho it doesnt have a point, its a demo reel and all the art was right on point. make some videos from these. like the scientist one


Jeinu responds:

scientist one is already made

part one of "TBA: Time Trail #1"