Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


TilomorgTilomorg

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2008

Touching

This was really nice to watch. Whoever writes a bad review on this is a idiot



AKS9AKS9

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2008

nice one

that was really really good. really well done!



AzuraeaAzuraea

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2008

Really Nice

This is the way people should make their stories, has a meaning and touching and waiting for the sequal, it was very-very impressive



FrozenFireFrozenFire

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2008

Wow Buddy!

Extremely Impressive Movie.

Seriously that was a crazy-good. I wish I was there to help you color and I am glad you had inspiration to continue with flash because I thought you were stuck somewhere lol. (I couldn't talk to you on Skype for like 2 months and then I lost my comp for 3 more months)

Anyway Im glad you had a lot of support man! That was a fantastic short, animation was smooth. The Music by Andrew fit perfectly, and Dmac does an awesome job like always.


People find this review helpful!
KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks broham :)


Bronx186Bronx186

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2008

Lol Wtf

That little kid thinks its fun to be in war lol nice even for bad graphics