Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


VyzerVyzer

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2008

Far From Perfect

It's easy to see where you were going with this game. The idea of being able to control a deadly disease that has the potential to decide the ultimate fate of humankind is pretty exciting. While it looks like you made a solid effort in developing this game, the way you executed the concept is all wrong (as neatly polished as it is).

Here are my main points of advice:

~ The waiting periods suck.

~ Mandatory 8 minute tutorial videos definitely suck. Try implementing a real-time tutorial or tips so that people can just sit down and play your game. Nothing in a game need be a chore, regardless of how good the rest of the parts of it are.

~ Many people need more short-term gratification than there is in this game. Rewarding people for simple things gives them a better idea of what is good and what is bad in a game, and through that they are able to better guess what direction they are supposed to be going in. Even the toughest and most complex popular strategy games have this.

~ The interface could have been done better. Making a half-inch scroll area on the map is tedious for the player and pointless, as you could have easily fitted the map and everything on it in the dimensions of your Flash. If you did that, then by removing the consequently pointless mini-map and placing the recent news in a newscast-esque scrolling banner along the top or bottom, it'd make the whole thing a lot neater and perhaps free up space for more essential things to the game, like the disease stats and the number of infected and deaths.

~ The map could have been made less bland, especially considering that that's what the player stares at for most of the game.

~ The sponsor spam is annoying. While it's understandable that sponsors are a good way to make money, getting the same ad flashed in your face three times in a row makes your game scream corporate dryness.

The concept of the game is great, and can very well be perfected, but it'd probably require straying away from the skeleton of this game series. Maybe you should try your hand at developing a new disease game from scratch? (Which I doubt has much of a chance of happening, since a third title in a series usually indicates franchise milking.)

Really nice work on the polish.


People find this review helpful!

Ember77Ember77

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2009

I have a sore throat SHUT DOWN THE BOARDERS!!!!!!!

Fun game but they shut down the boarders on me just because they were coughing.



tjardotjardo

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 11, 2008

boring

I like the originality, but this still is sorta boring. If i get this right, you can only buy symptoms and resistances and stuff and then.... just wait.
Also, i thought the whole time that you were supposed too get rid of the diseases. MAKE THIS CLEAR!!!!
5/10 for the concept and originality.



MichaHellMichaHell

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

good game...

but each time i play Madagascar, Cuba Japan and Indonesia all close their shipyards ans airport and i havent been killing anyone yet :( and i tried many differents ways to get them infected and nothing worked :(


People find this review helpful!

makrosmakros

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars June 5, 2012

I hated it when indonesia was the whole part of southeast asia .