Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 14, 2008 | 4:57 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice July 16, 2008
  • Daily Feature July 15, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Big News: Pandemic 2.5 is in development for iPhones everywhere! Find out more on my site!

Finally after months of development and balancing and testing, Pandemic II is here! I've tried my very best to ensure the game has surpassed the original in every possible way. Now its up to you to evolve your disease, infect mankind and kill them all!

**TO CLOSE WINDOWS, CLICK THE "X" IN THE TOP RIGHT**
**updated to version 1.16: bug fixes and tweaks based on user reviews**

Online guide and tutorial videos are available from with in the game, and it is HIGHLY recommended you watch the video tutorials.

edit: Thanks to the staff of NEWGROUNDS for the front page!!

Special thanks to the great guys at Crazy Monkey Games for sponsorship. And special thanks to Globex Designs for the music. Developed by Dark Realm Studios.

Reviews


MingoidMingoid

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 14, 2008

So much fun.

I love this game.

If you havent played it already do it now.



NTLupsonNTLupson

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 14, 2008

gdgd

very good



BradZ009BradZ009

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2008

Cool

I like this game. Its challenging and fun. But when you get the screen saying the vaccine is good and you cant infect anyone else, that sucks. But still 9/10


People find this review helpful!

redeemer117redeemer117

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 12, 2008

cool

this game was pretty damn good keep it up



InsaneSmilieInsaneSmilie

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 12, 2008

Did this game really need a sequel?

I remember wasting a good hour trying to beat Pandemic 1 back when it came out, and as a concept game it was actually kinda interesting. The biggest problem with Pandemic 2 is that while it certainly adds a few new trait and elements, it's still pretty much the same. The idea of creating a disease to wipe out all human kind is certainly the grounds to build a fun and interesting game on. Unfortunately this idea is let down in both games by completely dissociating the player with the genocide process. In both 1 and 2 the entire duration of the game is spent looking at a map watching different regions of the world change color. Never do you actually get to see the destruction your virus causes, or even a picture of what you unique disease looks like. It's like all the action is happening behind a closed door.

It's not just not the interface of lack graphics that make this game bad either, the game play is flawed as well, in fact it's pretty much nonexistent. The only control your actually given over the outcome of the game is how your disease evolves, and even that doesn't seem to have much effect compared to the huge dependency on luck. The real outcome of the game depends on rather or not your disease infects the more remote regions before boarders, airports, and shipyards are closed, I found this depends far more on luck than what traits you choose and it can get really frustrating in that way. After playing it for a certain amount of time the game just stops being fun and feels more like work. I didn't even waste my time trying to beat it this time around because I'm guess all get at the end is a "You wiped out Humanity!" text box like in the first one.

Pandemic in general is an example of great idea for a game that's been poorly executed, it gets boring really fast and even if you do menage to beat it there's really not much satisfaction in accomplishing a total genocide because at that point your probably aware that the game is mostly luck. After reading other reviews it would seem I'm going against the popular opinion here, which makes me wounder if people are really this easily amused.

I may not speak for everyone here but to me, a game that feels like work is not fun. A game where you loose over and over, not because you did something wrong, but because you got unlucky does not qualify as challenging. And a game in which your entire contribution is to click a few buttons is hardly a game at all.


Lots of people find this review helpful!