Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2008 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 4, 2008
  • Daily Feature June 2, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"In 2008, the largest particle accelerator ever created, the LHC at CERN's particle physics lab in Switzerland, was activated for the first time. The research obtained from this experiment has revolutionized the way we think about science. Un-answered questions that have puzzled man since the dawn of humanity are finally being answered. Are there extra dimensions? What is dark matter? Is time travel possible? Epsilon Experimental Sciences Research Facility aims to discover the potential of this whole new world of science, and you have been appointed as the primary test participant."

Going with what seems to be the current trend, I've made my version of a portal game. The challenges are based around solving tasks using various fictional technologies discovered as the result of the LHC experiment, primarily wormhole manipulation. Other methods include gravity shift, time reversal, and general cognitive dexterity.

I started this a while back and planned on coinciding it with the release of Valve's Portal, which coincidentally was around the same time CERN was planning to activate the particle accelerator. Unfortunately Epsilon still wasn't ready by the time Portal came out and the LHC still hasn't been switched on, so I decided to leave it until now.

Thanks to Geier Arnold for the original soundtrack, and for tirelessly helping out in the beta testing process.

NOTE: If you are experiencing problems with lag while freezing the ball, try turning off the ghost rooms by pressing G.

Reviews


pandaapocalypsepandaapocalypse

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 10, 2010

not as good

not as good as some other games



iXiX

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 1, 2008

Disappointing.

I'm going to take a leaf out of the immortal Yahtzee's book and cut this thing to ribbons:

Yes, this game is what I would call "disappointing", even though it is so in a dressed-up, flashy style. The gameplay is easy enough that I could probably beat this game blindfolded while taking a shit in the bathroom down the hall. Where are the so-called "risks" you mention before each "module"? I saw no risks, I even TRIED to cock things up and all I accomplished was getting the damn marble glued to the wall, with the level-finishing portal occasionally zapping it like it was trying to defibrillate the thing. Here's a tip for you: make these so-called "risks" more likely to happen, demonstrate under what circumstances they occur, and present a feasible way to avoid them. That will upgrade this game's status from "Shitty Portal Knockoff of the Week" to "Another Brick in the Wall called the NG Puzzle Collection." Yes, I'm aware that you made this game with Portal in mind; that does not excuse the fact that it's shitty, and it's a blatant spin on what's quickly becoming an overrated cash-cow.

6/10, 2 in the Portal.



nawatts2000nawatts2000

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 27, 2009

a little HARD,

I CONT DO IT ITS HARD :(
BUT ITS GOT REALLY GOOD PHYSICS



MidniteRayneMidniteRayne

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 6, 2008

Cool but boring

This game has a cool feel to it that I really like but the puzzle this gets kinda old quick. I hope to see more like it.



titanmantitanman

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 13, 2008

lags me up

the ghosts lag me up real bad