Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


halftailhalftail

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 2, 2008

great

hmm I played the flash version before I actually played the 'real' portal itself, and after playing this the actual 3d game is fun but it feels like a waste of money because the 2d version is just as good.. but it would rock even better when there was a level editor or just more levels, just so the game would last longer, because I thought it was too short (that goes for the real portal too btw)



ShongiShongi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2007

yay!!!!!

that was maybe the most interesting game i've plated it was fun,took a while to find some levels out......then got stuck on lvl 15.......



PalkeusPalkeus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

AWESOME but not the actual 'Portal'

This game is really fun and enjoyable but it hasn't got the creepy atmosphere and story as the 'real' portal like those writings on walls stating that 'the cake is a lie'. But with over 30 levels of flash game play, its certainly much longer than the actual portal. Its certainly a mind bender and you've done terrific to make a flash equivalent of a PC/console game.



frezzerburnfrezzerburn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 16, 2007

OMG!!

this is one of the most fun games ive played on newgrounds in a loooong time one suggestion make it a little better looking and and different types of portals!



CamberwellNowCamberwellNow

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2008

Not a lie?

I thought the cake was supposed to be a lie. Great game because it's based on a masterpiece.


People find this review helpful!