Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


LarssyLarssy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 3, 2008

alright!

IT's a good game, although this game ( not expected ) isn't as fun as the real game it still has the same values as the konsole version: mind teasing, always something new on every stage and of course the awsome feeling of unlimited of opportunities ( that might fade after some hours xD )


People find this review helpful!

MegaMoleMegaMole

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

Very good.

The thing that amazed me about this game was that I kept coming back to play it even after I said "I've had enough".

I beat it, but it was very frustrating on the later levels. It lags far too much for something so simple. The graphics aren't incredibly intense so I can't see why there is so much lag. I can only imagine it is the code causing the lag.

Regardless, excellent game. I enjoyed it very much.



hippykiller8hippykiller8

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

glitchy but fun

This is a very fun puzzle game but on level 38 the cubes goes away or when a portal is made, go back to the beginning where the cube was first found.



skunkbomberskunkbomber

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

awsome

really good theres some bugs to work out like i flew through a wall without a portal, and sometimes the guy gets stuck in the glow coming off the portal wich makes it really hard to beat lvl 36



ZeroD314ZeroD314

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 20, 2008

This is a great game!

Basically, everything anyone below me is what I feel about this game:awesome. But, I can't give this game for One reason. Glitches
There's an INCREDIBLE amount of glitches in this game: so much it makes my mind boggle. Theres also some cool tricks too but, first let me point out some major glitches...
-Anti-portals. Sounds weird but sometimes if you shoot a portal, you have through the wall to get into it, which is impossible. I actually once teleported out of the game, into the ceiling, and walked off to my death in level 7.
-Doors closing on cubes, turrets, etc. Try it! The cube will fly upword through floors and it looks really cool.
-Sometimes you can shoot portals on dark surfaces. Occasionally
-Go through blue panels. Examples on 17 where i went so fast, i vaporised on the blue laser and came out of the entrance... Also on 18, on the last blue panel, if you jump, you go right through it.
-A lot more but i'm too lazy to type it all

Some tricks...
-Energy balls bounce off of turrets and cubes. Speaking of which...
-On level 32, if you put a turret directly over the energy ball once it hits where it came out of, the turret will spin 360 degrees for like 30 minutes.
-Typing "noclip" on your console will make you fly! Actually, you're more like a ghost...
-Easter Egg!! Look on the window on level 16 for a few sec. See someone?

Plus more. Well, I hope you'll try these glitches for yourself! Thanks.


People find this review helpful!